Thunder winners in WBBL fixture

Sydney Thunder members and fans will be able to see their favourite team in action in Sydney every week of the tournament after the fixture for Weber WBBL|10 was announced today.

The tenth edition of the world’s premier women’s domestic T20 league heralds a new era for the game with a new optimised schedule that will see every team play a reduced 10 matches in the regular season, meaning every match will count for more in the battle for finals qualification.

Thunder announced yesterday they would host a festival of cricket at Drummoyne Oval that will feature three exciting home matches in nine days, starting with the Perth Scorchers (Tuesday Nov 12), followed by the Sydney Smash against the Sixers (Sunday Nov 17) and then Melbourne Stars (Wednesday Nov 20). 

Memberships for Sydney Thunder are now on sale. To purchase from our range of membership packages, click HERE.

Master coach Lisa Keightley’s squad kick off the season away to Hobart on October 28, before a return clash with the Hurricanes at North Sydney Oval on Thursday October 31 is followed by a showdown with reigning champions Adelaide as part of a double header at the same ground the next day.

Thunder will also be in Sydney for a game against the Sixers at the SCG on Sunday November 17 as part of the WBBL’s Stadium Series, giving Sydney fans blockbuster Sydney Smash matches on successive Sundays.

The team will also play away matches against Brisbane Heat (WACA, Nov 7), Perth Scorchers (MCG, Nov 15) and Melbourne Renegades (Junction Oval, Nov 23).

Sydney Thunder General Manager, Trent Copeland, said the draw was a win for Thunder’s members and fans and the people of Western Sydney.

“We are thrilled that our members and fans have the opportunity to see our WBBL team play at home in Sydney every week of the tournament,” Copeland said.

“The highlight of this will be the three match festival of cricket we will play at Drummoyne Oval in mid-November.

“The Sydney Smash is one of those games on a blockbuster double header Sunday, which will be one of the highlights of the competition league wide, and Drummoyne is one of the most picturesque, family friendly venues in the country.

“We are calling on our fans and cricket fans in general to fill the hill at Drummoyne that day.

“Overall, we have six matches in Sydney, meaning our players will not have to travel for 60 percent of the tournament and our members and fans can get to more of our matches.

“We are building an exciting squad, with the addition of Georgia Voll announced last week, and all of our players will be accessible to supporters at every match, looking to inspire the next generation of Thunder players and fans.” 

Sydney Thunder WBBL|10 Squad (as at July 9): Samantha Bates, Hannah Darlington, Saskia Horley, Anika Learoyd, Phoebe Litchfield, Claire Moore, Georgia Voll, Tahlia Wilson

Sydney Thunder WBBL|10 Fixture




Start time AEDT

Monday October 28

Hobart Hurricanes

Blundstone Arena


Thursday October 31

Hobart Hurricanes

North Sydney Oval


Friday November 1

Adelaide Strikers

North Sydney Oval


Thursday November 7

Brisbane Heat*



Sunday November 10

Sydney Sixers*



Tuesday November 12

Perth Scorchers

Drummoyne Oval


Friday November 15

Perth Scorchers*



Sunday November 17

Sydney Sixers

Drummoyne Oval


Wednesday November 20

Melbourne Stars

Drummoyne Oval


Saturday November 23

Melbourne Renegades

Junction Oval


*Matches are part of the WBBL Stadium Series

Principal Partners

Official Partners