Thunder part of new women’s T20 tournament

Sydney Thunder will be part of a new nine team national T20 competition leading into Weber WBBL|10 it was announced by Cricket Australia today.

The new competition, that will feature teams representing the eight WBBL clubs, will increase playing opportunities for Thunder’s domestic players.

The competition will be played immediately before the Weber WBBL|10 season, with teams playing four matches across two cities. The four top teams at the end of the regular season will play off in the semi-finals and final.

The new competition comes as the WBBL|10 season is shortened to 40 games, plus three finals, to optimise scheduling and will create more high performance opportunities for female players, while significantly increasing payments.

Thunder General Manager Trent Copeland praised the new competition, acknowledging the playing opportunities the tournament would present ahead of the WBBL.

“Traditionally our players don’t have the opportunity to play much T20 cricket leading into the WBBL, but this new tournament will give Thunder players at least four matches to come together and perform for the club before the main competition,” Copeland said.

“There may also be an opportunity for players outside our contracted list to join the club for this new tournament, expanding the club’s exposure and providing development opportunities to a greater pool of players.

“It’s also a great chance for our passionate members and fans to get behind the club earlier than ever before as we build up to what is shaping as a very exciting WBBL and BBL season.”

More details of the club’s fixtures will be announced in due course, including dates and venues for the new tournament, WBBL|10 and KFC BBL|13.

Principal Partners

Official Partners