Thunder duo form part of 15-player Aus T20 World Cup squad

Sydney Thunder duo David Warner and Pat Cummins have been selected in the 15-player squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the US, as announced today by the National Selection Panel (NSP).

Note: The provisional squad can be amended without ICC Event Technical Committee approval until the 25th of May 2024.

Warner, who was named Player of the Series in 2021 when Australia claimed victory, is set to make his 8th T20 World Cup appearance.

The current Australian Test captain, Cummins is also set to make his 4th World Cup appearance, following selections in 2012, 2021 and 2022.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will begin in June.

Provisional Australian squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup:

Mitchell Marsh (Perth Scorchers/Fremantle Cricket Club) (c)
Ashton Agar (Perth Scorchers/University Cricket Club) 
Pat Cummins (Sydney Thunder/Penrith Cricket Club)
Tim David (Hobart Hurricanes/Claremont-Nedlands Cricket Club) 
Nathan Ellis (Hobart Hurricanes/ Lindisfarne Cricket Club) 
Cameron Green (WA/Subiaco-Floreat Cricket Club) 
Josh Hazlewood (NSW/St George Cricket Club)
Travis Head (Adelaide Strikers/Tea Tree Gully Cricket Club) 
Josh Inglis (Perth Scorchers/Joondalup Cricket Club)  
Glenn Maxwell (Melbourne Stars/Fitzroy Doncaster Cricket Club)
Mitchell Starc (Sydney Sixers/Manly Warringah Cricket Club)
Marcus Stoinis (Melbourne Stars/Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club)  
Matthew Wade (Hobart Hurricanes/Clarence Cricket Club)
David Warner (Sydney Thunder/Randwick Petersham Cricket Club)  
Adam Zampa (Melbourne Renegades/Sutherland Cricket Club) 

NSP Chair of Selectors George Bailey said:

“This is an experienced squad with extensive World Cup experience that offers a variety of structures and covers the scenarios the panel believes will factor in the West Indies with the unique nature of the venues and our opponents.

“It’s great to have Ashton Agar back into the squad following a spate of unfortunate and untimely injuries. 

“We believe Ashton can play a critical role in this tournament along with Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Cam Green and Mitch Marsh in complementing our front-line attack options.

“The batting options available allow a tailored approach to each venue and opponent.”

Bailey acknowledged some of the omissions from recent T20 sides.

“Steve Smith, Matt Short, Jason Behrendorff, Aaron Hardie, Spencer Johnson and Xavier Bartlett were all part of long conversations, along with several others, including Jake Fraser-McGurk who is yet to play T20 International cricket but continues to impress and is developing rapidly.

“Being constrained to a squad of 15 for World Cups is always a challenge given the different scenarios and options we’d like to cover. 

“We will continue monitoring several players who have missed out on this preliminary squad and note that if we wish to change this squad, we have the option to do so over the coming weeks in accordance with ICC regulations. 

“Ultimately the balance of the final 15 needs to provide the best chance of being successful in this campaign.”

Principal Partners

Official Partners