Thunder’s Phoebe Litchfield crowned ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of The Year

Sydney Thunder’s Phoebe Litchfield has been named ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year after her outstanding breakthrough 2023.  

Litchfield debuted for Australia Women’s T20I squad in December 2022 and has since rocketed into both ODI and Test teams.  

Now having had an impressive first year in ODI cricket, retaining an Ashes in England and playing out in India, she is quickly rising within the ranks despite being just 20 years-old.   

Litchfield has amassed 485 ODI runs in 13 matches at an average of 53.88 and a strike rate of 81.92. Among a litany of fine knocks, she hit 106 not out against Ireland and two unbeaten half-centuries against Pakistan. 

The left-hander also scored 87 runs in two Tests and 88 in three T20Is, helping her claim the award ahead of seam bowlers Marufa Akter of Bangladesh (20 wickets), Lauren Bell of England (22 wickets), and all-rounder Darcey Carter of Scotland (255 runs and 16 wickets). 

Phoebe Litchfield: “I’m thrilled to be named the ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year. It’s an honour to be nominated alongside incredible cricketers and I’d like to extend my congratulations to all award nominees. 

“It’s been a massive year for women’s cricket and the standard of all teams continues to rise, which is exciting for the future of our sport. Multi-format series away from home against England and India were massive challenges for our group but we relished the opportunity. 

“From a personal perspective it's also been pleasing I’ve been able to put in some consistent performances and contribute to team success over the past 12 months. 

“Thank you to everyone who voted in the awards, it’s been a memorable year and I’m excited for what’s to come.” 


ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Suryakumar Yadav (India) 

ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Hayley Matthews (West Indies)  

ICC Emerging Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Rachin Ravindra (New Zealand)  

ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Phoebe Litchfield (Australia)  

ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year: Bas de Leede (Netherlands) 

ICC Women’s Associate Cricketer of the Year: Queentor Abel (Kenya) 

Seven more awardees will be announced on Thursday based on their international performances and overall achievements during the last calendar year. 

Principal Partners

Official Partners