Sydney Thunder’s Athapaththu, Litchfield and Cummins all named in ICC Team of The Year Awards

Sydney Thunder stars feature in ICC Men’s Test, Women’s ODI and T20 Team’s of the Year.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today completed announcements of the five ICC Teams of the Year across formats for men and women as part of the ICC Awards 2023.

The announcement of the five teams - the ICC Men’s and Women’s T20I Teams of the Year, the ICC Men’s and Women’s ODI Teams of the Year and the ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year – were made in a staggered manner over Monday and Tuesday and feature players from 11 teams selected on the basis of international performances through the calendar year.


ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year – Cummins

CA marquee supplementary player for Sydney Thunder, Pat Cummins, has been named as the captain of the ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year after leading his side to the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) title and finishing the year with 42 wickets at an average of 27.50 with three five-wicket hauls.

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year - FULL LIST: Usman Khawaja (Aus), Dimuth Karunaratne (SL), Kane Williamson (NZ), Joe Root (Eng), Travis Head (Aus), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Alex Carey (WK, Aus), Pat Cummins (Capt, Aus), R Ashwin (Ind), Mitchell Starc (Aus), Stuart Broad (Eng).


ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year – Athapaththu, Litchfield,

Thunder’s emerging star and Australia’s rookie, Phoebe Litchfield, made the ODI team of the Year despite not having played an ODI before 2023.

The 20-year-old opener made a huge impact in her first 13 matches, scoring 485 runs at an average of 53.88 and a strike rate of 81.92. She is a strong contender for the ICC Emerging Women’s Player of the Year award.

Left-handed opener Chamari Athapaththu, for long the batting mainstay for Sri Lanka, has been named captain of the side after scoring 415 runs in just eight matches at an average of 69.16 and a strike-rate of 125.37.

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year – FULL LIST: Phoebe Litchfield (Aus), Chamari Athapaththu (Capt, SL), Ellyse Perry (Aus), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Beth Mooney (WK, Aus), Nat Sciver-Brunt (Eng), Ash Gardner (Aus), Annabel Sutherland (Aus), Nadine de Klerk (SA), Lea Tahuhu (NZ), Nahida Akter (Ban).


Women’s T20I Team of the Year – Athapaththu

Athapaththu has the distinction of being named captain of both the ODI and T20I squads, fourth in the list of batting aggregate with 470 runs at a strike rate of over 130, the Sri Lankan captain also grabbed eight wickets with her off-spin to take the first spot in the team.

Athapaththu made huge contributions to her WBBL|09 T20 side earning Player of the Tournament as well as being named in the Team of the Tournament.

Women’s T20I Team of the Year – FULL LIST: Chamari Athapaththu (Capt, SL), Beth Mooney (WK, Aus), Laura Wolvaardt (SA), Hayley Matthews (WI), Nat Sciver-Brunt (Eng), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Ellyse Perry (Aus), Ash Gardner (Aus), Deepti Sharma (Ind), Sophie Ecclestone (Eng), Megan Schutt (Aus).


The individual awards will be announced on Wednesday and Thursday as per schedule announced in the media release here.

Principal Partners

Official Partners