Thunder Fall To Defeat At Hands Of Heat In Stadium Series

Sydney Thunder fell just short of their pursuit of locking in a Finals spot after Brisbane Heat won the first match of the Stadium Series by 22 runs.

Sammy-Jo Johnson and Marizanne Kapp shared five wickets between them as the Heat posted 8/160 from their 20 overs.

The Thunder chase started off at a fast pace, with Chamari Athapaththu (34) and Phoebe Litchfield (23) put on 54 for the opening wicket.

However, the Heat took regular wickets to stymie the momentum, with Thunder eventually finishing on 9/138.

Read the report here, or view the full scorecard here.

Heather Knight’s side finish the group stage with an historic Sydney Smash at the Sydney Cricket Ground as part of the WBBL’s stadium series. Secure tickets for that match here.

Principal Partners

Official Partners