Thunder Fall To Second Loss Of Summer After Mooney Century

Sydney Thunder fell to defeat, for just the second time in WBBL|09 after Perth Scorchers opener Beth Mooney struck an unbeaten century.

With stand-in skipper Sammy-Jo Johnson winning the toss and choosing to bowl first, Hannah Darlington was once again the star with the ball, taking her tally to 16 for the competition with the wickets of Sophie Devine and Maddy Drake.

However Mooney, who took her runs tally beyond 400 for the ninth consecutive tournament, batted throughout, reaching her century off the final ball with her 17th boundary.

In reply, regular wickets halted Thunder’s chase, with only Phoebe Litchfield (45) and Johnson (34*), regularly finding the boundary, the Scorchers eventually running out 42-run victors.

View the full scorecard here, or read the full report here.

The Thunder now travel to Adelaide for a fixture against the Strikers on Wednesday, before returning to face the Scorchers at Cricket Central next Saturday. Secure tickets for the next home match here.

Principal Partners

Official Partners