Sandhu wins Thunder Player of the Tournament

Gurinder Sandhu has been named the Sydney Thunder Player of the Tournament at the Cricket NSW annual Steve Waugh Medal (28 March 2013).

Sandhu, who had an excelled season with the ball leading the Thunder wicket taker list with 10 wickets at 20.80, while allowing only 6.5 runs per over won a close contest with 107 votes from Mike Hussey (94 votes) and Dirk Nannes (74) in third.

Sandhu, who came into the season with a big responsibility after finishing the 2012/13 season as the Steve Waugh Medalist, finished with the best bowling figures of 3/21 last season against the Melbourne Renegades.

It was also a successful night for Sydney Thunder wicketkeeper batsman Ryan Carters who claimed the Bupa Sheffield Shield Player of the Year. Carters, who scored 861 at an average of 53.81, in his debut season for the NSW Blues, put him top of the NSW run-scorers list.

Carters, who convincingly took the award with 130 votes, was 52 votes clear of Doug Bollinger (78) and Steve Smith (69), also finished in third place in voting for the Steve Waugh Medal, which was taken out by Sydney Sixers Sean Abbott.

The award caps off a big 2013/14 season for Carters, who joined the NSW set up this season on a rookie contract after spending the past few years with Victoria, scoring hree centuries for NSW this season.

He was also rewarded with a spot in the Shield team of the year after cementing his spot as the third highest run-scorer in the completion for the season.

All awards at the Steve Waugh Medal are decided through a 3-2-1 vote by players at the end of each match. The votes from all the matches are then combined to determine the winner.

Principal Partners

Official Partners