Squad named to take on Sixers

The Sydney Thunder are looking for a record crowd to finish their BBL|03 campaign against the Sixers at ANZ Stadium on Saturday night (7-15pm start time).

The original record for the ‘derby’ was the 31 262 that turned up at ANZ Stadium in January 2012 to watch the teams compete.

The Thunder will be hoping to finish the season with two consecutive wins after defeating the Renegades in their last match, while also putting a dent in the chances of the Sixers getting a home semi-final.

They will also be looking to beat the Sixers for the first time in the ‘Smash’.

The Thunder have named a squad of thirteen for Sydney Smash 05 on Saturday night. Missing will be Sri Lankan leg-spinner Ajantha Mendis who has been recalled by the Sri Lankan selectors to prepare for International cricket.

Mendis, had been superb in his two previous matches with figures of 1-19 and 2-15. He will be replaced in the squad by Ahilen Beadle, the 27 year-old slow-left arm spinner from the Manly-Warringah Club. Beadle, has previously represented both the NSW Futures League team and the Australian Under 19’s.

The squad of 13 is :

1)      M. Hussey ©

2)      D. Hughes

3)      J. Floros

4)      D. Nannes

5)      T.M Dilshan

6)      U. Khawaja

7)      R. Carters

8)      A. Tye

9)      A. Beadle

10)   G. Sandhu

11)   K. Patterson

12)   C. Tremain

13)   L. Feldman


  • The match will start at 7-15pm at ANZ Stadium
  • The KFC T20 Big Bash League will be shown live on free-to-air for the first time on Network Ten and ball-by-ball commentary broadcast through Fairfax Radio Network.  
  • Thunder Fans can take advantage of the exceptional value on offer to see the big games, the big stars and the big hits throughout the summer holiday period. Ticket prices start at $20 for adults, $5 for kids and $42.50 for a family. All prices are inclusive of GST.

Principal Partners

Official Partners