Warner named in ICC World Twenty20 Australian squad

Cricket Australia (CA) has today announced the national men’s squads for the upcoming ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh with Sydney Thunder's David Warner named in the 15-player squad for the ICC World Twenty20 as well as three Twenty20 matches against South Africa in the lead-up to the tournament. 

The 15-player ICC World Twenty20 squad is:

George Bailey (C)

Hobart Hurricanes

Dan Christian

Brisbane Heat

Nathan Coulter-Nile

Perth Scorchers

James Faulkner

Melbourne Stars

Aaron Finch

Melbourne Renegades

Brad Haddin

Sydney Sixers

Brad Hodge

Melbourne Stars

Brad Hogg

Perth Scorchers

Glenn Maxwell

Melbourne Stars

James Muirhead

Melbourne Stars

Mitchell Johnson

Brisbane Heat

Mitchell Starc

Sydney Sixers

David Warner

Sydney Thunder

Shane Watson

Brisbane Heat

Cameron White

Melbourne Stars

 Commenting on the chosen squad, National Selector John Inverarity said: “We have selected a squad that has plenty of experience playing the Twenty20 format in the sub-continent, which augers well for the challenges of Bangladesh,” Inverarity said.

“We have a group with good depth in power hitting and a range of bowling options. It has been strengthened by the return of Mitch Johnson, Brad Haddin, Shane Watson and David Warner who were not considered recently for Twenty20 selection against England due to the Test Tour of South Africa.

“The NSP was pleased with the way the side performed in those Twenty 20 matches where they played with great confidence and authority."

Australian Men’s ICC World Twenty20 pool matches

Sunday 23 March: Australia v Pakistan, Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur

Friday 28 March: Australia v West Indies, Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur

Monday 31 March: Australia v India, Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur.

Tuesday 1 April: Australia v Qualifier, Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur.

All of Australia’s pool matches as well as the semi-finals and the final will be broadcast on the Nine Network and FOX Sports. All other tournament matches will be broadcast on FOX Sports.

Principal Partners

Official Partners