Sydney Smash 04 Match Preview

Thunder Squad

Mike Hussey (c)
Ryan Carters

Blake Dean
Luke Feldman
Jason Floros
Kurtis Patterson
Usman Khawaja
Eoin Morgan
Dirk Nannes
Gurinder Sandhu
Carl Sandri
David Warner
Chris Woakes

Thunder Key Bowler

Look no further than Dirk Nannes. The Thunder player of the year in BBL|02 is back at 37 years-of-age and still sending down thunderbolts at each end of the innings. 

Thunder Key Batsman

David Warner. One of the most devastating batsmen in the world when on top of his game. Couldn’t be in better form heading into the game and is a proven matchwinner. 

Sixers Danger Men

Nic Maddinson - Showed his potential on International debut in October with a blistering 34 off 16 balls in the one-off T20 in India. Maddinson possesses the talent to take the game away from the Thunder in the opening overs and will be a crucial wicket.

Steve Smith - Huge boost for the Sixers as - like Warner - he was released by Cricket Australia for Sydney Smash 04. In great form after a Man of the Match performance as Australia reclaimed the Ashes in Perth.

X Factor

Late call-ups and English imports. 

Little-known Carl Sandri and Blake Dean were late additions to the squad as the injured pair of Luke Doran and Andrew Tye made way. The Sixers will be scrambling to put together a scouting report on both and either of these mystery spinners could change the game. 

Eoin Morgan and Chris Woakes provide the Thunder with an English connection along with valuable international experience. Eoin is a truly world-class finisher with the bat and Woakes brings much-needed versatility that ensures the Thunder have a balanced lineup.

Thunder Changes

The Thunder have revamped their roster ahead of BBL|03, bringing in world class talent in Michael Hussey, Eoin Morgan and Chris Woakes. There has also been an influx of players from the Sixers, with Warner, Daniel Hughes, Kurtis Patterson and Luke Feldman making the switch from Magenta to Green.

Sixers changes

Whilst they have lost a host of talent to the Thunder, the Sixers have brought in Marcus North, Jordan Silk, Mark Cosgrove and their own English import Ravi Bopara.

The game starts at 7.15pm at the SCG and will be broadcast Australia-wide through Channel Ten.

Follow @ThunderBBL on Twitter and tag it #ThunderNation

Like us on Facebook at
Buy tickets to Thunder home games at ANZ Stadium for a great value night out!

Principal Partners

Official Partners