Thunder represented at State Awards

Sydney Thunder cricketers Mike Hussey, Ryan Carters, Usman Khawaja and David Warner have been named at the announcement of the State Cricket Awards today at Manuka Oval in Canberra.

Sydney Thunder team captain Mike Hussey, named captain of the ACA Big Bash League All*Star Team of the Year, was the Thunder’s top performer with the bat, scored 258 runs at an average of 36.85 and a strike rate of 130.96. Across his 8 innings, Hussey scored three half-centuries, top scoring with 85 against the Adelaide Strikers as he put on a batting master class the entire season, leading from the front.  He hit 8 sixes, the most of any Sydney Thunder player during BBL|03.

Ryan Carters, who narrowly missed out on the Bupa Sheffield Shield player of the year award, was selected in the ACA 4-Day Series All*Star Team of the Year. Carters finished fourth on the list of run scorers in the Shield with 789 runs at an average of 46.74.

Usman Khawaja and David Warner were both named in the ACA One-Day Interstate All*Star Team of the Year after their successful seasons in the Ryobi One-Day Cup. Warner (541 runs at 67.62) and Khawaja (426 runs at 71) were named after their impressive domestic competition form, finishing as the top two scorers in the format throughout 2013/14. Warner finished with three centuries for the competition, including a mammoth 197 against Victoria at North Sydney Oval.

ACA Big Bash League All*Star Team of the Year
4. Steve Smith (SYDNEY SIXERS)
5. Chris Lynn (BRISBANE HEAT)
6. Moises Henriques (SYDNEY SIXERS)
8. Nathan Coulter-Nile (PERTH SCORCHERS)
9. John Hastings (MELBOURNE STARS)
10. Jackson Bird (MELBOURNE STARS)
11. Muttiah Muralitharan (MELBOURNE RENEGADES)
12. Glenn Maxwell (MELBOURNE STARS)

Bupa Sheffield Shield Player of the Year:
Marcus North (WA) – 19 votes (9 games, 884 runs at 68 average, 12 wickets at 22.2 average)
Ryan Carters (NSW) – 16 votes
James Hopes (QLD) – 16 votes
Travis Head (SA) – 15 votes

ACA 4-Day Series All*Star Team of the Year
1. Marcus North (WA) CAPTAIN
2. Ryan Carters (NSW)
3. Phil Hughes (SA)
4. Tom Cooper (SA)
5. Adam Voges (WA) VICE CAPTAIN
6. Glenn Maxwell (VIC)
7. Sam Whiteman (WA)
8. James Hopes (QLD)
9. Stephen O’Keefe (NSW)
10. Jason Behrendorff (WA)
11. Michael Hogan (WA)
12. John Hastings (VIC)

ACA One-Day Interstate All*Star Team of the Year
1. David Warner (NSW)
2. Michael Klinger (SA)
3. Shaun Marsh (WA)
4. Cameron White (VIC) CAPTAIN
5. Steve Smith (NSW) VICE CAPTAIN
6. Tom Cooper (SA)
7. Matthew Wade (VIC)
8. Sean Abbott (NSW)
9. Ben Cutting (QLD)
10. Jon Holland (VIC)
11. Josh Hazlewood (NSW)
12. Usman Khawaja (QLD)

Toyota Futures League Player of the Year: Vele Dukoski (ACT)
Lord’s Taverners Indigenous Cricketer of the Year: Michael Bailey (WA)
Cricket Australia Umpire Award: Simon Fry
Benaud Men’s Spirit of Cricket Award: Alcohol. Think Again Western Warriors
Benaud Women’s Spirit of Cricket Award: Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit
RYOBI One-Day Cup Player of the Year: Cameron White (presented in October 2013)
KFC T20 Big Bash League Player of Tournament: Ben Dunk (presented in February 2014)

Player of the Year votes in interstate Cricket Australia competitions are calculated as follows for each competition: at the conclusion of every match, each on-field umpire allocates votes on a 3-2-1 basis – three votes to the best player. Accordingly, there are 12 votes in total available in each match, and any individual player can receive a maximum of six votes.

Principal Partners

Official Partners