Weber Barbecues partners with WBBL as Finals rejigged | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Weber Barbecues partners with WBBL as Finals rejigged

07 September 2021

Sydney Thunder WBBL|06 Champions // Getty Images

New naming rights partner signals the start of a new era for WBBL

The Women’s Big Bash League has announced Weber Barbecues, a brand synonymous with summer, family, food and fun, as the League’s new naming rights partner.

From this season, when Thunder bid to defend its WBBL title, the League will be known as the Weber WBBL, signalling the start of a new era of innovation for the world’s leading cricket competition for women. Weber will also become a supplier of the KFC Big Bash League.

In addition, the Weber WBBL|07 season will feature a new Finals series format that provides greater reward for the side that finishes atop the 56-game regular season table and increased alignment to the KFC BBL Finals system.

The first-placed side will now progress to, and host, The Final on Saturday, November 27, giving their fans the best chance to see their side live in a home decider.

Teams placed second to fourth will play off for the right to contest The Final, via:

- The Eliminator (third vs fourth) on Wednesday, November 24, and

- The Challenger (second vs winner of The Eliminator) on Thursday, November 25.

- Both matches will be played at the home venue of the second placed team.

Confirmation of host venues for all Weber WBBL|07 series Finals matches will be subject to state border restrictions, public health conditions and their related impacts.

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s General Manager of Big Bash Leagues, said competition for the top spot in the regular season will be hotter than ever.

“The new Weber WBBL|07 Finals format adds more incentive than ever to finishing on top of the table after the 56-game regular season,” Dobson said.

“Not only will teams have a guaranteed path to The Final, they’ll also have the backing of a strong home crowd, with fans given more time to secure their ticket to the Final.

“The League views The Final as a marquee moment in the summer of Big Bash and we look forward to creating an unmissable event to cap the Weber WBBL|07 season.”

Meanwhile, Dobson said that the season’s schedule was still set to start on October 14 with the Sixers playing the Melbourne Stars as the cricket world continues to navigate border restrictions.

Sydney Thunder is set to kick off their title defence on Saturday 16 October against the Adelaide Strikers.

“We are committed to ensuring cricket remains a leading sport for women and girls by holding a full, safe and successful Weber WBBL|07 season,” Dobson said.

“We learnt many lessons from staging full Weber WBBL and KFC BBL seasons last summer and are confident of another safe and successful summer ahead.

“We’ll continue to work with our clubs, state and territory governments, health authorities and broadcasters in the lead up to the Weber WBBL|07 season, which remains on track to begin on October 14.”


Sydney Thunder WBBL Squad

Head Coach: Trevor Griffin

Contracted for WBBL|07: Rachael Haynes (C), Samantha Bates, Hannah Darlington, Corinne Hall, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Anika Learoyd, Phoebe Litchfield, Kate Peterson, Olivia Porter, Lauren Smith, Tahlia Wilson.