WBBLI07 Fixtures Announced | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

WBBLI07 Fixtures Announced

08 July 2021

Thunder's title defence set to begin on 16 October at North Sydney Oval

Sydney Thunder’s Women’s Big Bash League title defence will kick off at North Sydney Oval when the seventh edition of the world’s premier female domestic T20 tournament begins on Thursday 14 October.

Thunder will open their season just two days later on Saturday 16 October when they take on the Adelaide Strikers, before a blockbuster Sydney Smash against cross-town rivals the Sydney Sixers the next day.

The 59-game WBBL|07 will be taken back to fans around the country this summer with matches to return to metro and regional venues in all six states as the schedule, announced today, reverts to its national, festival-based structure after the WBBL|06 season was played entirely in a bio-secure hub in Sydney.

A three-game, top four Finals series remains. Finals Series matches will be played on Wednesday 23 November and Thursday 24 November, with the Final itself to take place in primetime following day one of the historic Vodafone Men’s Test between Australia and Afghanistan in Hobart.

A record 47 matches will be broadcast nationally on television this year – an almost five-fold increase since the league’s inception just seven years ago.

The remarkable growth of the WBBL – Australia’s fourth most-watched sporting league after the KFC BBL, AFL and NRL – was underscored with today’s schedule release.

In the WBBL’s first season, ten matches were televised, followed by 12 in WBBL|02 and WBBL|03, 23 in WBBL|04 and WBBL|05 and 36 last season.

The 47 matches to be televised by Seven and Foxtel in 2021-22 confirms the WBBL’s enormous popularity with Australian audiences and standing as the best women’s T20 league in the world.

All 59 matches will also be streamed live on Kayo Sports and cricket.com.au, and available on ABC Radio.

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s General Manager of Big Bash Leagues, said:

“We’re excited to announce a WBBL|07 schedule today that takes the competition back to our passionate and loyal fans around the country.

“This schedule rewards our fans for their patience, with many not having seen their teams play in person for almost two years. By visiting 13 metro and regional venues across all six states this season, we’re hoping to give as many fans as possible the opportunity to watch their teams live.

“Like all sporting leagues, we remain conscious of the need to be agile in response to the challenges of the pandemic. This schedule provides us with significant flexibility should we need to pivot, and the lessons of WBBL|06 and KFC BBL|10 stand us in good stead should we need to do so.

“We’d like to thank our League partners CommBank, Vodafone and KFC, as well as broadcasters Seven, Foxtel, Kayo, ABC Radio and cricket.com.au, for their unwavering commitment to the WBBL. We also thank all eight Clubs for their passion and dedication and wish them all the best in WBBL|07.”

Further information regarding Memberships and Tickets will be released shortly.

Interested in becoming a Member of the Thunder Nation? Click here to be among the first to hear about our packages for WBBL|07 and BBL|11.

Sydney Thunder WBBL|07 Fixtures (All AEDT Start Times)

Sat 16 Oct | Vs Adelaide Strikers | 7:05pm | North Sydney Oval

Sun 17 Oct | Vs Sydney Sixers | 1:40pm | North Sydney Oval

Tues 19 Oct | Vs Adelaide Strikers | 3:40pm | Blacktown ISP

Sat 23 Oct | Vs Sydney Sixers | 3:40pm | WACA

Sun 24 Oct | Vs Perth Scorchers | 5:15pm | WACA

Sat 30 Oct | Vs Melbourne Stars | 3:40pm | Metricon Stadium

Sun 31 Oct | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | 10:15am | Metricon Stadium

Sat 6 Nov | Vs Melbourne Stars | 1:40pm | CitiPower Centre

Sun 7 Nov | Vs Brisbane Heat | 10:15am | CitiPower Centre

Tues 9 Nov | Vs Melbourne Renegades | 7:05pm | Blacktown ISP

Sat 13 Nov | Vs Melbourne Renegades | 2:00pm | TBC

Sun 14 Nov | Vs Perth Scorchers | 10:15am | TBC

Fri 19 Nov | Vs Brisbane Heat | 7:05pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena

Sat 20 Nov | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | 3:40pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena

Click here to sync the fixtures to your e-cal.