WBBL|05 Fixture Announced | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

WBBL|05 Fixture Announced

12 June 2019

Sydney Thunder // Getty Images

Thunder set to open inaugural standalone Rebel Women’s Big Bash League season

Sydney Thunder are set to make history when they feature in the opening match of the inaugural standalone Rebel Women’s Big Bash League season. 

The full schedule for the fifth season of the WBBL was released today with some big matches announced to excite the Thunder Nation.

For the first time, WBBL|05 will be played as a standalone tournament from the KFC Big Bash League, with a dedicated window starting in mid-October.

Thunder will clash with their crosstown rivals the Sydney Sixers to open the tournament in a blockbuster fixture at North Sydney Oval under lights on Friday 18 October.

The team will then face the Brisbane Heat on the Sunday to close out the festival-style opening weekend.

Thunder will also return to Bankstown and Blacktown after the success of hosting home games there in WBBL|04 and will be back at Drummoyne Oval for their second festival weekend in mid-November.

WBBL|05 will feature seven consecutive festival weekends around the country, with all matches broadcast live on Channel 7, Fox Sports and Kayo to ensure fans can catch all the action.

Five Thunder matches will be broadcast during the regular season including two Friday night matches, one Saturday night fixture and two Sunday afternoon games.

Sydney Thunder batter Rachael Haynes said she was excited to see the WBBL step out on its own as a standalone tournament.

“The WBBL is the best women’s cricket league in the world and it's great to see it have its own window to showcase the top local and international players that come together to play in this tournament," said Rachael Haynes

“We are playing more night games under lights than ever before and are excited that the Thunder Nation will have so many opportunities to see us play in Sydney.”

The Thunder bowed out of WBBL|04 with a thrilling final ball catch against the Brisbane Heat in the semi-finals and will be looking to go one better and book a spot in the WBBL|05 final on Sunday 8 December.

Thunder still have two venues to finalise which will be announced in the coming weeks.

To celebrate the first ever WBBL standalone tournament, Sydney Thunder is offering supporters the chance to become an inaugural Sydney Thunder WBBL Member.  

As an inaugural Sydney Thunder WBBL Member, you will have access to all home games and the exclusive opportunity to meet the squad.

Register your interest here.

Sydney Thunder Memberships for the upcoming season are set to go on sale next month.

If you have any questions, please contact the Membership Team at sydtmembership@sydneythunder.com.au or by calling 02 8302 6006.


Sydney Thunder WBBL|05 Fixture

Friday 18 October 2019 vs Sydney Sixers, North Sydney Oval, 7.40PM

Sunday 20 October 2019 vs Brisbane Heat, North Sydney Oval, 2.10PM

Saturday 26 October 2019 vs Melbourne Renegades, Blacktown International Sportspark, 7.00PM

Sunday 27 October 2019 vs Melbourne Stars, Bankstown Memorial Oval, 2.00PM

Saturday 2 November 2019 vs Hobart Hurricanes, West Park Oval, Time TBC

Sunday 3 November 2019 vs Hobart Hurricanes, West Park Oval, Time TBC

Sunday 10 November 2019 vs Perth Scorchers, Karen Rolton Oval, 2.00PM (2.30PM AEDT)

Tuesday 12 November 2019 vs Perth Scorchers, WACA Ground, 5.30PM (8.30PM AEDT)

Friday 15 November 2019 vs Sydney Sixers, Drummoyne Oval, 7.10PM

Saturday 16 November 2019 vs Brisbane Heat, Drummoyne Oval, 7.10PM

Wednesday 20 November 2019 vs Adelaide Strikers, Venue TBC, 2:30PM

Sunday 24 November 2019 vs Adelaide Strikers, Blundstone Arena, Time TBC

Wednesday 27 November 2019 vs Melbourne Stars, Venue TBC, 2:30PM

Sunday 1 December 2019 vs Melbourne Renegades, Junction Oval, 11.40AM