Fixtures Released For Upcoming WBBL Season | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Fixtures Released For Upcoming WBBL Season

16 July 2018

//Getty Images

Home finals confirmed as WBBL|04 Fixtures Announced

The Sydney Thunder’s WBBL|04 campaign will commence on the first weekend of summer as part of a festival style opening weekend at CitiPower Centre. 

The full schedule for the fourth season of the Rebel Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) was released today with plenty of exciting matches scheduled for the Thunder.

The Thunder will feature in three festival weekends to start the season and will treat fans to an early Christmas present with a Christmas Eve clash against the Hurricanes at Spotless Stadium.

The Thunder will play three games at Spotless Stadium this season, including the much-anticipated clash against their Sydney rival Sixers on January 2nd.

Sydney Thunder General Manager Lee Germon said the fixture allows local fans plenty of opportunity to see their favourite team in action.

“Overall, our Thunder Nation will have seven opportunities to see our women play in Sydney this summer.” said Lee Germon

“We are very pleased to be playing three matches at Spotless Stadium and to be returning to Blacktown. 

"We are also very excited to be able to take a match to Bankstown for the first time.”

Thunder bowler Rene Farrell is hoping plenty of matches in Sydney will encourage bigger crowds to come out in support. 

"Having a look over the draw it's exciting to see plenty of games in Sydney so we can repay our fans and hopefully the Thunder Nation will get behind us," said Rene Farrell 

"We want to make the final this year so hopefully we can relive the efforts of WBBL|01 and bring home the trophy to Spotless." 

In a league first, WBBL finals will be stand-alone fixtures, guaranteeing the top ranked team will win the right to host at their home stadium, in front of a home crowd. Both Semi Finals will take place on Saturday 19 December at the one location, with the Final to be played the following weekend on Australia Day, Saturday 26 January.

Across the season, 23 WBBL matches will be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS and Seven, almost double the number of televised matches from last season, meaning fans will be able to enjoy more WBBL coverage at home than ever before. Fans will also be able to follow all the WBBL action on ABC Radio, who will broadcast all 59 matches live. Sydney Thunder will feature in seven of the 23 broadcast matches.

In addition to the unprecedented coverage from broadcasters, Cricket Australia will live stream the remaining WBBL matches on and the CA Live App.

Once again, all regular season matches will be free of charge for attending fans.

Sydney Thunder Fixture


Sunday, 2 December 2018, vs Melbourne Renegades, CitiPower Centre (VIC), 1:50PM

Saturday, 8 December 2018, vs Sydney Sixers. North Sydney Oval, 7:10PM

Sunday, 9 December 2018, vs Brisbane Heat, North Sydney Oval, 2:50PM

Saturday, 15 December 2018, vs Adelaide Strikers, Blundstone Arena, 2:50PM

Sunday, 16 December 2018, vs Adelaide Strikers, Blundstone Arena, 10:10AM

Friday, 21 December 2018, Hobart Hurricanes, Venue TBC, 1:50PM

Monday, 24 December 2018, vs Hobart Hurricanes, Spotless Stadium, 2.50PM

Saturday, 29 December 2018, vs Perth Scorchers, Lilac Hill         , 10:00AM

Sunday, 30 December 2018, vs Perth Scorchers, Lilac Hill, 10:00AM

Wednesday, 2 January 2019, vs Sydney Sixers, Spotless Stadium, 2:50PM

Saturday, 5 January 2019, vs Melbourne Stars, vs Blacktown International Sports Park, 2:00PM

Sunday, 6 January 2019, vs Melbourne Stars, Bankstown Oval, 2:00PM

Tuesday, 8 January 2019 vs Melbourne Renegades, Spotless Stadium, 1:50PM

Saturday, 12 January 2019 vs Brisbane Heat, Cazaly's Stadium (QLD), 6:15PM


BBL|08 Fixtures will be released on Wednesday 18th July.