Big Changes For WBBL In 2019-20 | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Big Changes For WBBL In 2019-20

04 May 2018

Stafanie Taylor //Getty

Stand-alone tournament set for WBBL|05

Sydney Thunder's WBBL side will begin their season in October for the 2019-2020 season when the Women's Big Bash League season moves to a stand-alone tournament.

Cricket Australia Chief Executive James Sutherland has now confirmed his organisation will follow suit with the women's domestic Twenty20 league, beginning with the summer after next.

"In 2019-20 the women's T20 Big Bash League will move into the October-November period," Sutherland told SEN radio this week.

"It will be the primary cricket that is on through that period.

"The reason why it's not this year is because there is a World T20 event for the women in the Caribbean."

The move will guarantee women's cricket to be the first on free-to-air television for future summers, with 24 games set to be broadcast by both the Seven Network and Fox Sports in each of the next six summers.