Alex Blackwell Medal Contenders | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Alex Blackwell Medal Contenders

02 April 2019

Harmanpreet Kaur

Who was Thunder's best player of WBBL|04?

Sydney Thunder will announce its Player of the Tournament for WBBL|04 at Friday’s Cricket NSW Awards.

A brilliant team effort saw Thunder reach the semi-finals for a second consecutive year, however a number of players stood out throughout the season with strong individual performances.

Here’s a closer look at the contenders for the player-voted award, won last year by Australia star Rachael Haynes.

Nicola Carey

Carey was outstanding with bat and ball in WBBL|04.

The 25-year-old allrounder claimed 15 wickets (second-most at Thunder), took eight catches (most at Thunder) and scored 104 runs.

Undoubtedly her best performance came against the Melbourne Stars at Bankstown Oval when she made a quickfire 39 not out before taking 2/22 to win the match for Thunder.

Rene Farrell

Despite missing five matches due to injury, Farrell collected 14 wickets at 18.86 in WBBL|04 to finish as Thunder’s third leading wicket-taker, behind Stafanie Taylor.

The veteran seamer claimed multiple wickets on five occasions, including best figures of 3/12 from four overs against the Adelaide Strikers in Hobart.

Rachael Haynes

Another impressive season could see Haynes claim back-to-back Player of the Tournament honours.

The opener scored 376 runs at 31.33 to make her the eighth highest run scorer in the competition, as well as Thunder’s top scorer.

She also claimed Thunder’s highest individual score of the season when she smashed an unbeaten 68 from 48 deliveries at Sydney Showgrounds Stadium.

Harmanpreet Kaur

Kaur enjoyed another strong WBBL campaign, scoring 310 runs at 31.00, including two half centuries.

The big hitting India captain finished with 15 sixes, the most of any Thunder player and fourth-most in the competition.

Kaur chipped in with the ball too, taking three wickets including best figures of 2/23.

Rachel Priest

Priest’s powerful hitting at the top of the order and presence behind the stumps was crucial to the success of Thunder in WBBL|04.

She scored 338 runs at a strike rate of 134.13, with a high score of 58 not out against the Adelaide Strikers.

The former New Zealand wicketkeeper was also outstanding with the gloves, completing 10 dismissals.

Stafanie Taylor

Taylor is every chance to win her second award after another dominant season with the bat and ball.

The West Indies captain led Thunder’s bowlers with 19 wickets and scored a handy 212 runs.

One of her best performances came against the Adelaide Strikers in Hobart when Taylor took 2/33 before smashing a half century in a match-winning allround performance.

Past winners of WBBL Player of the Tournament:

WBBL|03 - Rachael Haynes

WBBL|02 - Harmanpreet Kaur

WBBL|01 - Stafanie Taylor