Thunder Announce Squad For Perth Semi FInal | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder Announce Squad For Perth Semi FInal

31 January 2018

Sydney Thunder//Getty Images

The Thunder WBBL side have arrived in Perth ahead of this big semi-final clash with the Perth Scorchers at Optus Stadium

The Sydney Thunder have announced their 13-player squad to play the Perth Scorchers tomorrow at Optus Stadium (3.10pm AEDT start) in the first semi-final of the Rebel Women’s Big Bash League.

Naomi Stalenberg has been named in the squad after she missed out on Sunday’s thrilling 2-run victory against the Heat due to a minor hamstring strain. 

Thunder Captain Alex Blackwell has praised the teams bowling attack in recent games and believes they will be an important part to secure the side’s second grand final berth.

“I think they are working brilliantly together as a group led by Rene Farrell who has so much experience,” said Alex Blackwell

“The way Belinda Vakarewa bowled (on Sunday) was perfect for the conditions and she had the bravery to bowl her slower ball as well and she seems to be getting wickets with it.

Vakarewa received player of the match honours for her career best 3-17 on Sunday. Rene Farrell is the Thunder’s leading wicket-taker with 17 with Sam Bates (16) and Nicola Carey (15) not far behind.

“It’s wonderful that we have qualified for the semi-final and the most important game is now ahead of us.” said Blackwell

Sydney Thunder’s 13-player Rebel Women’s Big Bash League squad to face the Perth Scorchers
Alex Blackwell ©
Sam Bates
Nicola Carey
Rene Farrell
Maisy Gibson
Lisa Griffith
Rachael Haynes
Fran Wilson
Rachel Priest
Naomi Stalenberg
Stafanie Taylor
Rachel Trenaman
Belinda Vakarewa

Match Details 
Sydney Thunder v Perth Scorchers, Thu 1 Feb, 3.10 AEDT, Optus Stadium, Perth

The match will be broadcast of Channel 10 as well as streamed live on and