Watson Replaces Hussey As Thunder Captain | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Watson Replaces Hussey As Thunder Captain

25 October 2016

Shane Watson //GETTY IMAGES

All-Rounder To Lead Champions Into BBL06

Sydney Thunder has appointed Shane Watson as the Club’s BBL captain, replacing Michael Hussey who retired earlier this year to take up the role of Director of Cricket.

Watson was a key member of the Thunder side that won the KFC Big Bash League taking nine wickets and scoring 235-runs during the competition.

“I’m very excited to be chosen as captain of the Sydney Thunder,” said Shane.

“I’ve got big shoes to fill with Mike Hussey doing an incredible job over the past couple of years. I’m going to have to be at my best to live up to what Mike’s done.

“I’ve got my own personality and style on how I like to play T20 cricket from my experiences of playing a lot of T20 cricket.

“Things won’t change that much but I have my own ideas on how the team can get the best out of themselves against world class opposition.”

The all-rounder led the side in Hussey’s absence against the Perth Scorchers last season and has previously captained the Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League as well as captaining Australia on eleven occasions.

“Shane joining Thunder last year was a real coup for the club and I’m pleased to see he’s accepted the position of Captain,” said Sydney Thunder Director of Cricket Michael Hussey.


“He has a lot of experience captaining at the very highest level and his leadership skills were a key factor in our success last year.


“I’m very proud of the culture we’ve established within club and have no doubt that Shane is the perfect person to take the reigns going forward.”

Sydney Thunder General Manager Nick Cummins believes Watson's experience will be invaluable during the upcoming season.

“Shane has taken the reigns during an important time in Thunder’s history. We’ve had a number of leaders retire, not only Mike, but Jacques Kallis and Andrew McDonald have also departed the club taking a significant amount of experience with them.

“We believe Shane is the right person to take the club forward into a new era and continue to build on the culture that Mike established when he joined the club in BBL03.”

Watson joins Alex Blackwell, the Club’s WBBL captain, as Sydney Thunder look to defend both the KFC T20 Big Bash League and Women’s Big Bash League trophies won on 24 January 2016 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.