Vakarewa Departs Thunder | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo



Vakarewa Departs Thunder

12 June 2019

Belinda Vakarewa // Andrew Butler

Fast bowler joins Hurricanes for WBBL|05

Sydney Thunder fast bowler Belinda Vakarewa has made the decision to seek further opportunities with the Hobart Hurricanes ahead of the upcoming stand-alone Rebel Women’s Big Bash League.

Vakarewa, 21, was part of the inaugural Thunder squad that won the WBBL|01 title and has played 39 matches for the team, taking 21 wickets at an average of 25.00.

The move to the Hurricanes coincides with Vakarewa making the move to Tasmania for the domestic 2019/20 Women’s National Cricket League season to join the Tasmanian Tigers.

“I would like to thank all the Thunder Nation supporters, players, coaches, support staff and everyone who has been involved Sydney Thunder during my time at the club,” said Vakarewa.

“I’ve made some great friends and I look forward to the challenge of coming up against them this coming season.”

Thunder enjoyed a strong WBBL|04 season before suffering a heart-breaking final ball loss in the preliminary final to the eventual champions Brisbane Heat.

Thunder is set to open the first ever standalone WBBL tournament when it faces the Sydney Sixers on Friday 18 October at North Sydney Oval.

Sydney Thunder WBBL|05 Fixture

Friday 18 October | Vs Sydney Sixers | North Sydney Oval | 7.40PM

Sunday 20 October | Vs Brisbane Heat | North Sydney Oval | 2.10PM

Saturday 26 October | Vs Melbourne Renegades | Blacktown International Sportspark | 7.00PM

Sunday 27 October | Vs Melbourne Stars | Bankstown Memorial Oval | 2.00PM

Saturday 2 November | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | West Park Oval | Time TBC

Sunday 3 November | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | West Park Oval | Time TBC

Sunday 10 November | Vs Perth Scorchers | Karen Rolton Oval | 2.00PM (2.30PM AEDT)

Tuesday 12 November | Vs Perth Scorchers | WACA Ground | 5.30PM (8.30PM AEDT)

Friday 15 November | Vs Sydney Sixers | Drummoyne Oval | 7.10PM

Saturday 16 November | Vs Brisbane Heat | Drummoyne Oval | 7.10PM

Wednesday 20 November | Vs Adelaide Strikers | Venue TBC | 2:30PM

Sunday 24 November | Vs Adelaide Strikers | Blundstone Arena | Time TBC

Wednesday 27 November | Vs Melbourne Stars | Venue TBC | 2:30PM

Sunday 1 December | Vs Melbourne Renegades | Junction Oval | 11.40AM