Vakarewa Becomes Seventh Thunder Star To Represent Australia | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Vakarewa Becomes Seventh Thunder Star To Represent Australia

30 June 2017

Belinda Vakarewa

Australia make it two from two in ICC Women's World Cup

Belinda Vakarewa became the 135th ODI player for Australia over night when she was selected to play Sri Lanka in Australia’s second ICC Women’s World Cup fixture.

Vakarewa is one of three members of Thunder’s WBBL02 squad to be in the Australia touring party for the World Cup, while overseas stars Harmanpreet Kaur and Stafanie Taylor are both with India and the West Indies.

Sir Lanka’s Chamari Athapaththu Jayangani hit the third highest ODI score in women’s cricket making 178*, as Sir Lnaka made 9-2257 in Bristol but the Melbourne Stars’ Meg Lanning hit an unbeaten 152 as Australia were able to chase down the total within 44 overs.

✌️ from ✌️#WWC17

Thunder’s Vakarewa bowled four overs for 22, but did take the catch of Prabodani while Alex Blackwell was not required to bat she continued her fine form in the field catching Weerakkodi.

In the evening’s second match India beat the West Indies by 7-wickets with the West Indies losing their second consecutive game while Thunder’s Harmanpreet Kaur took 2 for 42 while Stafanie Taylor playing her 100th ODI was run out for 16 but did take 1-24 with the ball.

Sydney Thunder players to represent Australia:

Alex Blackwell
Lauren Cheatle
Rene Farrell
Rachael Haynes
Erin Osborne
Naomi Stalenberg
Belinda Vakarewa

Nicola Carey has also been part of two ICC World T20 squads, but has yet to make her debut.

Top Stories