Teams confirmed for HomeWorld Cup Thunder Nation Cup Finals Day | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Teams confirmed for HomeWorld Cup Thunder Nation Cup Finals Day

29 October 2019

Arun Chauhan

Finals Day will take place on Sunday 3 November at The King's School

The annual HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup – a celebration of culture, cricket, community and social cohesion – will be played on Sunday 3 November at The King’s School in North Parramatta.


Teams drawn from Sydney Thunder’s territory, known as the Thunder Nation, will celebrate their cultural ties to their former homelands by playing Australia’s national sport, cricket.

The sixth edition of the HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup will see teams represent eight different communities; African Nations, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Fiji, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Cricket is viewed as a platform to promote social cohesion and celebrate cultural diversity, and the HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup is playing an important role in achieving that. The emotion in the voices of the players selected to compete emphasised the value of the tournament.

“When I came to Australia a few years back, I hardly knew anyone here, now I can proudly say that I got a big extended family and friends here, all the credit goes to cricket. Cricket always unites people."

- Ravi Adabala, India

“It means the world to me to represent my birth place. Fiji is just an island and when I was growing up, always wanted to give back something. Now through the wonderful Thunder Nation, I can fulfil that."

- Sinjay Krishnan, who will represent Fiji with his son, Aryan 

Trudi Busch, Director of Marketing, Sponsorship and Community at HomeWorld, said the reason HomeWorld – which has managed five large display home villages across NSW since 1986 – supported the Thunder Nation Cup was because its values extend beyond the cricket field.

“HomeWorld, alongside Sydney Thunder, is committed to making a genuine contribution to the community,” said Busch.

“Through the HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup, we are able to bring communities together and to celebrate culture through cricket."

Each team was selected after attending a series of community trials. The two top-finishing teams from the HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup Finals Day will compete in the Final in January 2020.

The HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup Finals Day will be held at The King’s School in North Parramatta, with games played all day. The event is free to attend.

“The King’s School had no hesitation when Sydney Thunder approached us to host the event," said Aaron Malouf, King’s School Director of Development.

"A Western Sydney event celebrating the humanity of the sport of cricket by having teams representing ex-pats from the pacific, the sub-continent, Africa and the far east ticks all the boxes with us. We are honoured and delighted to be involved and we can’t wait to open our gates to all these talented cricketers."

For more information, please contact Sydney Thunder.

Teams for HomeWorld Thunder Nation Cup Finals Day


Rahmat Qurbani

Sharifullah Sultani

Shafeequllah Nouree

Atta Abbasi

Waheed Kherkhah

Tahsinullah Sultani

Nazir Shinwari

Syed Salehi

Hameed Kherkhah

Hilal Tawakal


TJ Smith

Ardil Domingo

Khalil Maiche

Reesen Pillai

Dane Naiker

Remaining players TBC


Syed Ashaab

Shimul Nath

Ishmam Masud

Sadi Rahaman

Asif Anik

Anirban Maitra

Rafi Mohsin Shams

Rahid Alam (wk)

Mahadi Shaheed

MD Asif Adnan

Rajib Sarker


Aryan Krishan

Sanjay Krishan

Shervin Singh

Zariff Khan

Tasheed Tawheed

Aman Prakash

Viliame Yabaki

John Hussain

Maciu Gauna

Kavin Chand Autar

Ravi Chand Autar

Shane Prasad


Dhruv Kant (WK)

Japneet Singh

Gurinder Singh Hara

Vikrant Nehru

Dilgaurav Kumar

Arun Chauhan

Ravi Adabala

Tushaar Garg

Siddarth Peepat

Guru Chandar Ram


Anil Amartya

Khem Raj Paudel

Hemant Acharya

Ramesh Chetri

Sanjay Bhatt

Tez Chand

Anup Bhusal

Deepak Shrestha

Prashant Bistha

Vikesh Raj Joshi

Sujan Karki


Waleed Jalil

Shebak Khan

Bilal Qureshi

Zain Khan

Khawaja Muhammad Ali

Basit Alit

Bilal Abbasi

Umair Warraich

Syed Aadil

Sibghat Khan

Mohammed Subhan Khan


Thuva Sentil

Jaliya Goonaratne

Menuja Goonaratne

Kulasiri Jayasinghe

Don Liyanage

Mayooran Mohan

Kevin Pathirane

Thimothy Shanon

Saravanen Sivakumar

Pragah Payson Sriranjan

Dilruk Wasalage

Thanuraj Yogeswaran