Thunder commits to 'Use It Up' | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo



Thunder commits to 'Use It Up'

25 October 2021

Olivia Porter and Issy Wong with OzHarvest's 'Use It Up' tape

Club continues support of OzHarvest for fourth consecutive year

Sydney Thunder is proud to continue its support of OzHarvest this summer, extending the club's partnership with Australia’s leading food rescue organisation to a fourth consecutive season.

To date, the generosity of the Thunder Nation has resulted in 190,796 meals for those in need across Western Sydney.

This season, the club is committed to educating players, members and fans about preventing food wastage.

OzHarvest's 'Use It Up' campaign encourages everyone to use the food you have before heading to the shops to buy more. 

By simply wasting less food at home, we can all save food, money and the environment. It is the single most powerful thing individuals can do to take climate action.

Click HERE to check out quick and easy recipes and videos to transform commonly wasted ingredients into delicious meals.

Click HERE to purchase some 'Use It Up' tape.

The Food Wastage Problem:

- Globally 1/3 of all food is wasted

- 8-10% of global greenhouse gas emissions are caused by wasted food

- In Australia, 7.6 tonnes of waste comes from our homes, with an average of 312kg food wasted per person

Sydney Thunder WBBL|07 Schedule (All AEDT Start Times)

Sat 23 Oct | v Sydney Sixers | 3:40pm | UTAS Stadium | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Sun 24 Oct | v Perth Scorchers | 5:15pm | UTAS Stadium | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Tues Oct 26 | v Melbourne Stars | 1:25pm | UTAS Stadium | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Wed 27 Oct | v Melbourne Renegades | 1:25pm | UTAS Stadium | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Sat 30 Oct | v Melbourne Stars | 4:05pm | UTAS Stadium | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Sun 31 Oct | v Hobart Hurricanes | 10:15am | UTAS Stadium | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Sun 7 Nov | v Brisbane Heat | 10:15am | Adelaide Oval | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Tues 9 Nov | v Adelaide Strikers | 6:00pm | Karen Rolton Oval | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Thurs 11 Nov | v Perth Scorchers | 1:25pm | Karen Rolton Oval | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Sun 14 Nov | v Sydney Sixers | 1:40pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena | Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Wed 17 Nov | v Melbourne Renegades | 7:05pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Fri 19 Nov | v Brisbane Heat | 7:05pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au

Sat 20 Nov | v Hobart Hurricanes | 3:40pm | Great Barrier Reef Arena | Foxtel/Kayo/cricket.com.au