Thunder stars set for WNCL final | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder stars set for WNCL final

08 February 2019

Maisy Gibson and Nicola Carey // Getty Images

NSW to host QLD at North Sydney Oval on Saturday

Seven Sydney Thunder players have been named in the New South Wales Breakers squad to face the Queensland Fire in the Women’s National Cricket League Final at North Sydney Oval this Saturday (10:00am start).

NSW Breakers squad: Alyssa Healy (c), Sarah Aley, Nicola Carey, Lauren Cheatle, Rene Farrell, Ash Gardner, Maisy Gibson, Rachael Haynes, Ellyse Perry, Lauren Smith, Naomi Stalenberg, Rachel Trenaman, Belinda Vakarewa

The Breakers secured their place in a 23rd consecutive final with a five-wicket bonus-point win over the ACT Meteors on Saturday in Adelaide.

The last time the Breakers and Queensland met on the Gold Coast in September the home side won a thrilling match by one wicket. The hosts recovered from 6-18 to successfully chase down 150 to win.

Thunder seamer Rene Farrell returned season best figures in that match, claiming 6-17 from nine overs.

Farrell finished the preliminary rounds as the leading wicket taker. The spearhead of the Breakers attack collected 15 wickets at an average of 10.66.

Match details:

Saturday 9 February, North Sydney Oval

New South Wales Breakers vs Queensland Fire

Gates open: 9:00am

Session 1: 10.00am-1:10pm

Innings break: 1:10-1:50pm

Session 2: 1:50-5pm

Meanwhile Alex Blackwell has been named captain of the Governor-General’s XI to face New Zealand during this month’s Commonwealth Bank Women’s ODI series.

The Governor-General’s XI match – inspired by the traditional Prime Minister’s XI game – pits some of the best young female players in Australia against a touring team annually.

Now in its fourth year, this summer’s GG's XI match will be a 50-over game at Sydney’s Drummoyne Oval on 28 February, played in between the second and third ODIs of the Rose Bowl series between Australia and New Zealand.

The three-match ODI series between Australia and New Zealand begins in Perth on 22 February.