Tahlia Wilson set to miss opening match | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Tahlia Wilson set to miss opening match

15 October 2021

Tahlia Wilson // Getty

Tasmanian-based Emily Smith named as replacement wicketkeeper

Tahlia Wilson will miss Sydney Thunder’s opening match of their Weber WBBL|07 campaign with a minor leg injury, and will be replaced by Tasmanian-based player, Emily Smith, in Saturday night’s match against the Adelaide Strikers.

The competition’s defending champions have called Smith in under the WBBL’s local replacement player rules for Saturday’s match at Blundstone Arena, Hobart (starting from 7.05pm).

Thunder’s coach Trevor Griffin described Wilson’s injury as ‘minor,’ but he preferred to play on the side of caution.

“It’s only a mild strain, but with a dense competition ahead of us we decided not to take any risk with it,” he said. “Tahlia will be a bad loss for us, she brings so much to the team, but we think sitting her out for one game is a great course of action.

“Emily is a wicketkeeper from Tasmania. She’s a great character, and will add to our group – and she’s tidy behind the stumps.”

Smith described her opportunity to play for the defending champions as ‘crazy’.

“It’s been a crazy 16 hours,” she said. “I was in the Hurricane’s squad [of 13] and today I’m with Sydney Thunder. It’s incredible! However, I’m grateful for the opportunity Thunder has presented, and I’m grateful the Hurricanes have agreed to let me play.”

Thunder’s physiotherapist Katie Ryan said Wilson was responding well to her treatment.


#34 Samantha Bates | Wallsend JCC

#25 Hannah Darlington (C) | St Clair Hawks JCC

#12 Jess Davidson | Tamworth JCC

#29 Corinne Hall | Dore Creek Workers Club JCC

#58 Sammy-Jo Johnson | St Pats U/12s Boys Team, Albury JCC

#4 Anika Learoyd | Northern Districts JCC, Woolgoolga

#36 Phoebe Litchfield | Kinross Wolaroi School Team

#81 Smriti Mandhana | Maharashtra U/15s (aged 9)

#33 Kate Peterson | Castle Hill RSL JCC

#14 Olivia Porter | Ryde-Hunters Hill Pirates JCC

#24 Deepti Sharma | Uttar Pradesh

#3 Emily Smith | Sunshine JCC

#2 Lauren Smith | Umina District JCC

#8 Issy Wong | Knowle & Dorridge CC 

Thunder fans can catch all the action LIVE on Channel 7, Fox Cricket and Kayo.