Thunder name squad for Heat clash in Cairns | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder name squad for Heat clash in Cairns

11 January 2019

Harmanpreet Kaur/Getty Images

Harmanpreet Kaur is set to depart before finals as she returns to India for International duties

Sydney Thunder has confirmed the travelling 13-player squad to play the Brisbane Heat on Saturday in their final regular season match of the Rebel Women’s Big Bash League.

The Thunder have already secured a spot in the semi-final but will be playing for the opportunity to overtake the Sydney Sixers for the top-spot.  


The match will also be Harmanpreet Kaur’s final match for the Thunder this season with the Indian captain required for International duties for India’s upcoming series against New Zealand.  

“It’ll be sad to see her go but we understood at the beginning of the season her commitments with the Indian national side,” said Head Coach Joanne Broadbent.

“We are fully supportive of her and have been planning all season for her unfortunately not being available for the finals.

The last time the Thunder met the Heat this season it was an 89-run partnership between openers Rachael Haynes and Rachel Priest that set the game up for a 28-run victory.

“We played the Heat very early on this season so a lot has changed since then,”

“Even though we have secured our spot in the finals we go into the game, like any other, wanting to win and put ourselves in the best position to finish the season in top spot.”

The match is being played on Saturday (7.15pm AEDT) at Cazaly’s Stadium, Cairns. The game will be streamed live on or the CA App with radio broadcast via ABC Grandstand.
Sydney Thunder’s Rebel Women’s Big Bash League squad to face the Brisbane Heat

Alex Blackwell (C)
Rachael Haynes
Rachel Priest
Maisy Gibson
Lisa Griffith
Nicola Carey
Sam Bates
Stafanie Taylor
Harmanpreet Kaur
Naomi Stalenberg
Rachel Trenaman
Belinda Vakarewa
Saskia Horley