Patterson On Adelaide Strikers Threat | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Patterson On Adelaide Strikers Threat

17 January 2017

Kurtis Patterson //Getty Images

Thunder set to face Strikers at Spotless Stadium

Sydney Thunder has a 13-player squad for tomorrow evening’s KFC Big Bash League game against the Adelaide Strikers at Spotless Stadium (7.40pm start).

Saturday’s victory over the Sydney Sixers made it three wins in a row for the Thunder and vastly improved the team’s net run rate in the process.
Opener Kurtis Patterson says the team is playing with a renewed enthusiasm, that can be traced back to the moment Eoin Morgan hit the match winning runs against the Melbourne Stars.

“When you’re at a game like that and you have the win that we did that night is some that gets your right up and about,” said Patterson.

“It’s certainly turned our season for us and I think we have shown the kind of cricket that we can play in the two games after that.”

Patterson believes the threat of an early-exit when the Thunder were winless in four games helped spur the team on.

“Morgs’ effort against the Stars lit a spark for our games against Hobart and the Sixers,” said Patterson.

“We’ve been playing some really good cricket so I don’t think anything will change with our mindset for tomorrow night’s match against the Strikers.

“The reality is that has been our mindset since the match against the Stars – we’ve known that it is do or die.

“We’re looking forward to getting out in front of our home crowd and doing our best to give us the best chance of scraping into that fourth spot.”

The MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup Final will be played at 4.15pm as a curtain raiser with Punjab de Sher and The Avengers representing the Indian and Pakistan communities in the final of Thunder’s multi-cultural competition.

The MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup gives cricket players from seven cultural backgrounds the chance to experience the fun and excitement of Twenty20 cricket, whilst representing their community.
This year saw players from the Fiji and Bhutanese communities join cricketers from Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan, Fiji, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Indian in the competition with 82 teams and more than 800 participants over an eight week period.

Sydney Thunder squad to play the Adelaide Strikers:

Shane Watson (Captain)
Fawad Ahmed
Aiden Blizzard
Carlos Brathwaite
Ryan Gibson
Chris Green
Liam Hatcher
Jay Lenton
Clint McKay
Arjun Nair
Kurtis Patterson
Ben Rohrer
James Vince

Do you live for sport?

Kick off your career in sport at ACPE’s Open Day on Saturday 4 February. Find out where a Bachelor degree in Sport, Health, Education, or Dance from ACPE could take you. Register your place now.