Eight Thunder players named in Breakers squad | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Eight Thunder players named in Breakers squad

07 November 2018

Saskia Horley

Rene Farrell will captain the team for the first time

Eight Sydney Thunder players have been named in the 13-player New South Wales Breakers squad for rounds three and four of the Women’s National Cricket League at Blacktown International Sports Park No. 1 on Friday and Sunday.

Former Australian seam bowler and Thunder’s leading wicket taker Rene Farrell will captain the Breakers for the first time in the two matches against Western Australia and Victoria. She stands in for Alyssa Healy, who is in the West Indies with the Australian team preparing for the Women’s World T20.


Rising stars Saskia Horley, 18, Rachel Trenaman, 17, and Academy member Hannah Trethewy, 19, are among four teenagers in the squad for the two matches, as well as Tahlia Wilson, 19.

It is an exciting time for Horley and Wilson as they wait in anticipation of a potential debut.

“You never forget the moment when you receive your first cap, so if either of those girls have the opportunity to do so, especially on home soil in front of their friends and family, I think it’ll be very exciting,” Farrell said.

“Hopefully the girls get a go, not sure what the team looks like at the moment, it’s still very hard and everyone is competing for a spot.”

With five Australian players out of the Breakers squad, third-year WBBL players Maisy Gibson and Naomi Stalenberg have stepped up to help lead the young Breakers squad.

“There’s a lot of younger girls within the group, and it’s really exciting to feed off their energy,” Farrell said.

“Maisy Gibson and Naomi Stalenberg (are among a number of players) that have really embraced being the older girls within the squad,” Farrell said.

“(It’s important to) see them mature and grow for when the (Australian) girls are away down the track as well.

“I think they have really stood up in thinking about the game which is really important for these upcoming games.”


The match against Western Australia on Friday may also be very significant for allrounder Lisa Griffith who is hoping to play her first WNCL game in eight seasons after taking a break from cricket.

She recently starred with the ball for the Otago Sparks in the New Zealand T20 Super Smash, claiming six scalps including best figures of 3-10.

The Breakers won one of their opening two fixtures in September. They emphatically defeated Tasmania by 186 runs and narrowly went down by one wicket in a thrilling match against Queensland.

Despite the loss the Breakers are on top of the table thanks to the double bonus point victory over Tasmania.

Farrell claimed best figures in the WNCL for 20 years in the loss to Queensland, 6-17 from nine overs.

Play commences at 10.00am at Blacktown International Sports Park No. 1 against Western Australia on Friday.

NSW Breakers squad

Rene Farrell (c)

Sarah Aley

Lauren Cheatle

Maisy Gibson

Lisa Griffith

Mikayla Hinkley

Saskia Horley

Lauren Smith

Naomi Stalenberg

Rachel Trenaman

Hannah Trethewy

Belinda Vakarewa

Tahlia Wilson

Final XI to be named at the toss


Sydney Thunder Memberships are currently on sale with supporters being able to enjoy all five games at Spotless Stadium for $100 and enjoy more than $200 of additional benefits including access to Wet'n'Wild Sydney, the Sydney Royal Easter Show and $10 Movie Tickets. Click here to join the Thunder Nation.

Sydney Thunder Tickets

9 DEC | v Brisbane Heat | WBBL | North Sydney Oval
21 DEC | v Hobart Hurricanes | WBBL | Manuka Oval
21 DEC | v Melbourne Stars | BBL | Manuka Oval
24 DEC | v Hobart Hurricanes | WBBL | Spotless Stadium
24 DEC | v Sydney Sixers | BBL | Spotless Stadium
2 JAN | v Sydney Sixers | WBBL | Spotless Stadium
2 JAN | v Perth Scorchers | BBL | Spotless Stadium
5 JAN | v Melbourne Stars | WBBL | Blacktown International SportsPark
6 JAN | v Melbourne Stars | WBBL | Bankstown Memorial Oval
8 JAN | v Melbourne Renegades | WBBL | Spotless Stadium
8 JAN | v Brisbane Heat | BBL | Spotless Stadium
13 JAN | v Adelaide Strikers | BBL | Spotless Stadium
22 JAN | v Melbourne Renegades | BBL | Spotless Stadium
9 FEB | v Hobart Hurricanes | BBL | Manuka Oval