Thunder Nation Cup Squads Announced | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder Nation Cup Squads Announced

02 November 2018

Semi Finals This Weekend

The semi-finals of the Thunder Nation Cup are set to take place this Sunday at Ollie Webb Reserve, Parramatta with a chance for two teams to represent their communities in the final at Spotless Stadium on 22 January 2019 ahead of Sydney Thunder’s KFC Big Bash League fixture against the Melbourne Renegades.

Over the past two months nearly 1,000 cricketers from seven different communities have trialled in front of Sydney Thunder coaches for the opportunity to represent their community in the sixth instalment of the Thunder Nation Cup. In addition, teams will also represent the ACT and Fiji communities.

“This is something indescribable, because representing my country in such a platform is huge. It is a real proud feeling and I am fortunate enough to be involved,” said Gurukrishna Ramasubramaniam who has been selected to represent the Indian community in this year’s competition.

“Cricket literally means everything and is a part of my everyday life. The key motivation for me to get through a week at work is thinking about the time I would get onto the field on Saturday at cricket.”

The Thunder Nation Cup is a program that provides individuals with the opportunity to connect with and represent their community. The Thunder Nation Cup has a specific focus on those who have recently arrived to Australia, as it helps provide a connection to their community. Through cricket, the Thunder Nation Cup celebrates diversity across many cultures

Thunder Nation Cup – Selected Squads


Rahmatullah Qurbani – Erskine Park
Tahsin Sultani – Yagoona
Nazir Shinwari - Plumpton
Modacer Momandi -
Basit Ali – Yagoona
Shafeequllah Nouree – Blacktown
Hameed Kherkhah – Regents Park
Sharf Sultani – Yagoona

African Nations

Ardil Domingo – Ingleburn
Zaheer Domingo – Liverpool
Ridwaan Osmany – Campbelltown
Mohamed Dewji 
Khalil Mhaiche – Raby
Victor Mudyara 
Raees Kirsten – Liverpool
Ighsaan Jacobs – Ingleburn
Zunaid Moosa – Raby


Sadi Rahaman – Rosebery
Anirban Maitra - Wentworthville
Kaoser Ahmed – Wiley Park
Labib Mahmud – Canberra
Asif Anik – Glenfield
Sadmim Rahman – Eastwood
Mohammad Robiul Hossain – Greenacre
Mezba Patwary – Chippendale

Canberra Multicultural

Lovejit Singh
Gurinder Singh
Gagandeep Singh
Sanjay Sharma
Sachin Sharma
Maninder Singh
Shubham Chaudhry
Sharanjit Singh
Lovepreet Sohi
Gagan Sra
Fahad Khan


Shervin Singh
Ravi Autar
Aman Prakash
Johnny Hussain
Kush Ram
Tasheed Tawheed
Neil Maharaj
Nish Dagli
Avi Chandra
Shane Prasad


Puneet Shally – Guildford
Vishwas Saini – Blacktown
Arun Chauhan – Kings Langley
Gurpreet Singh – Doonside
Japneet Singh – Penrith
Dilgauran Kumar – Campsie
Gurukrishna Ramasubramaniam – Parramatta
Gurnoor Singh – Blacktown


Niraj Bhattarai 
Arjun Pokhrel – Hurstville
Saurav Adhikari – Enmore
Hemant Acharya – Strathfield
Govind Karki – Auburn
Sanjay Bhatt 
Awesh Khadal – Auburn
Mausaf Rana – Oatley


Jehangir Ali – Moore Park
Umair Warraich – Mount Druitt
Bilal Qureshi – Normanhurst
Zain Khan – Bankstown
Asfar Riaz – Carlingford
Mohsin Abdullah – Quakers Hill
Umair Ahmed Khan – Bankstown
Muhammad Shebak Khan – Wiley Park

Sri Lanka

Luwis Anthony – Moore Park
Menuja Goonaratne – Kellyville
Thanuja Karunathilaka – Quakers Hill
Sutha Thanabalasingam – Homebush
Thuva Senthilvaderel – Kellyville
Tarik Viswasam – Jordan Springs
Kevin Pathirane – Glenmore Park
Hassan Mohamed – Hornsby

Selected players will be invited to become Community Ambassadors for Sydney Thunder, while a squad of 13 will be selected to form the Thunder Nation Cup All Stars for fixtures set to place throughout the summer.

Sydney Thunder’s programmes exists to engage with the community across regional New South Wales, western Sydney and abroad. Through sport, Sydney Thunder is committed to giving back and supporting the community.