Thunder reveal opening round squad | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder reveal opening round squad

01 December 2018

Alex Blackwell/Getty Images

Plenty of familiar faces in the Thunder's 13-player squad to line up against the Renegades

The Sydney Thunder have named a 13-player squad for their opening match of the Rebel Women’s Big Bash league.
The Thunder arrive in Melbourne today ahead of their match against the Melbourne Renegades on Sunday as part of the WBBL opening weekend. 
Thunder captain Alex Blackwell is looking forward to her first hit-out since retiring from state and international cricket in February this year.  
“I’ve moved on from a very successful career with the Australian team and the NSW Breakers and I continue my career with the Sydney Thunder and I just feel so honoured to be a part of this wonderful club,” said Blackwell
“I can’t wait to get out there and be a part of it again.”
Australian players Rachael Haynes and Nicola Carey will re-join the squad after celebrating their recent ICC World T20 Cup victory in the West Indies.
Batting at no. 6, Haynes had limited opportunities with the bat but made the most of her chances, including an unbeaten 25 from 15 in the semi-final to lift the team to the winning total of 5-142.

Thunder has only made one change to the WBBL|03 squad who reached the semi-finals, with Saskia Horley gaining her first WBBL contract after transitioning through the NSW pathway program.
“I’ve been part of the first three (WBBL’s) and I do believe the fourth is going to be bigger and better,” said Blackwell
“The Sydney Thunder looks great. It’s an amazing squad to captain with a lot of talented players to work with and also to mentor with some of the younger players.
I’m really looking forward to seeing some of our emerging talent get out there and show what they’ve got.”
The Thunder take on the Melbourne Renegades on Sunday 2 December at CitiPower Centre in Melbourne from 1:50pm AEDT. The match will be broadcast live on 7mate, Fox Sports and the Cricket Australia live app with radio coverage via ABC Grandstand.
13-player squad
Alex Blackwell (c)
Rachael Haynes
Naomi Stalenberg
Sam Bates
Maisy Gibson
Stafanie Taylor
Rene Farrell
Rachel Priest
Nicola Carey
Belinda Vakarewa
Saskia Horley
Lisa Griffith
Rachel Trenaman

Sydney Thunder WBBL Tickets

9 DEC | vs Brisbane Heat | North Sydney Oval

5 JAN | vs Melbourne Stars | Blacktown International Sportspark

6 JAN | vs Melbourne Stars | Bankstown Memorial Oval