Thunder to host multicultural T20 tri-series in Wollongong | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder to host multicultural T20 tri-series in Wollongong

20 February 2019

Thunder Nation Cup All Stars squad

Players from six communities will represent the Thunder Nation Cup All Stars

The Thunder Nation Cup is a community initiative that celebrates cultural diversity and provides an opportunity for individuals to represent their community.

This year the Thunder Nation Cup was contested by teams representing Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Fiji, Nepal and African Nations, with close to 1,000 participants trialing to represent their community.

From the competition, a squad was selected to represent the Thunder Nation Cup All Stars, who will be competing against the Melbourne Renegades and Melbourne Stars Champions League teams in Wollongong.

Hameed Kherkhah will captain the Thunder Nation Cup All Stars during the T20 tri-series.

Kherkhah, who also captained Afghanistan to victory in the Thunder Nation Cup,  is excited about the opportunity to represent his culture and the Thunder Nation Cup All Stars.

“To be given the opportunity to lead the Thunder Nation Cup All Stars is an absolute honour and privilege. I’m always looking forward to represent my community and Sydney Thunder,” Kherkhah said.

“We have a really good bunch of boys from different communities and a few new faces coming.  I’m excited to see them perform and showcase their talent.”

The Thunder Nation Cup All Stars will be looking to reclaim the series, after going down 2-1 in a three-game series last year in Melbourne.

Thunder Nation Cup All Stars squad

Hameed Kherkhah (c) – Afghanistan – Blacktown Cricket Club

Sutha Thanabalasingam (vc) – Sri Lanka – UNSW Cricket Club

Nazir Shinwari – Afghanistan – Blacktown Cricket Club

Tahsinullah Sultani – Afghanistan – Auburn District Cricket Club

Ardil Domingo – African Nations – Auburn District Cricket Club

Kaoser Ahmed (wk) – Bangladesh – Randwick-Petersham Cricket Club

Tushaar Garg – India – Bankstown Cricket Club

Japneet Singh – India – Penrith Cricket Club

Arun Chauhan – India – Chatswood Gypsies Cricket Club

Viwas Saini – India – UNSW Cricket Club

Muhammad Shebak Khan – Pakistan – Waratah-Mayfield Cricket Club

Suffan Hassan – Pakistan – Sydney Cricket Club

Thuva Senthivadevel – Sri Lanka – Baulkham Hills Cricket Club

Head Coach: Dean Burke

Assistant Coach: Bilal Qureshi



Monday 25 February 2019

Game 1 – 2:00pm – Thunder vs Stars at Keira Oval

Game 2 – 6:30pm – Renegades vs Thunder at North Dalton Park

Tuesday 26 February 2019

Game 3 – 9:30am – Stars vs Renegades at Keira Oval

Final – 2:00pm – 1st Place vs 2nd Place at Keira Oval