Thunder Duo Star In Canada | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo



Thunder Duo Star In Canada

05 August 2019

Chris Green and Daniel Sams // Getty Images

Chris Green and Daniel Sams both awarded player of the match honours

Sydney Thunder duo Chris Green and Daniel Sams are continuing to impress in Canada’s Global T20 League.

>> JOIN THE THUNDER NATION

Green made a successful debut for the Toronto Nationals last week, taking 3/33 to help his side claim their first win of the tournament.

He has continued to make an impact, taking 2/40 in his second game before claiming player of the match honours with an impressive all-round performance today.

Green claimed two key wickets and scored an unbeaten 30 runs as the Nationals defeated the Montreal Tigers.

He has now taken seven wickets in three matches.

Sams was also awarded player of the match today after claiming 4/25 in his second match for the Vancouver Knights.

The star-studded side includes former Thunder Nation stars Chris Gayle and Andre Russell.

Sams recently re-committed to Sydney Thunder after a brilliant debut season that saw him finish as the club’s leading wicket-taker.

The second season of the GT20 League began on 25 July, featuring 22 matches and culminating in finals on 11 August.

Sydney Thunder is set to open its ninth KFC Big Bash League campaign against the Brisbane Heat at the Gabba on 17 December, before playing its first game in Sydney on 2 January.

Memberships are on sale now, with flexible 2-Game Memberships starting from just $45 and Full Season Memberships available from $80.

>> BECOME A SYDNEY THUNDER MEMBER

Sydney Thunder BBL|09 Fixture

Tuesday 17 December | Vs Brisbane Heat | The Gabba | 7:10PM

Thursday 19 December | Vs Melbourne Renegades | GMHBA Stadium | 7:10PM

Saturday 21 December | Vs Adelaide Strikers | TBC | 6:10PM

Saturday 28 December | Vs Sydney Sixers | SCG | 7:10PM

Tuesday 31 December | Vs Adelaide Strikers | Adelaide Oval | 7:10PM

Thursday 2 January | Vs Melbourne Stars | Sydney Showground Stadium | 3:40PM

Monday 6 January | Vs Brisbane Heat | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:10PM

Wednesday 8 January | Vs Melbourne Stars | MCG | 7:10PM

Saturday 11 January | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Sydney Showground Stadium | 6:10PM

Wednesday 15 January | Vs Melbourne Renegades | TBC | 6:10PM

Saturday 18 January | Vs Sydney Sixers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:10PM

Monday 20 January | Vs Perth Scorchers | Optus Stadium | 9:40PM

Friday 24 January | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Blundstone Arena | 6:10PM

Sunday 26 January | Vs Perth Scorchers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 2:45PM