Thunder duo named in World Cup squad | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder duo named in World Cup squad

15 April 2019

Usman Khawaja // Getty Images

Patterson selected for Australia A squads

Sydney Thunder duo Pat Cummins and Usman Khawaja have both been named in Australia’s squad for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup.

The pair have been in outstanding form, with Cummins taking 17 wickets in his last five ODI matches and Khawaja scoring two centuries in his last ten outings. The star opener is currently Australia’s highest ODI run-scorer this year with 769 runs at 59.15.

Chairman of Selectors, Trevor Hohns, said:

“We’d like to congratulate the players selected to represent Australia at the upcoming World Cup, it is a huge honour and I know this squad is focused on playing a brand of cricket which can help us in our ambition to win another World Cup title.

“We have been extremely pleased with how the ODI squad has been building over the past six months, including the recent series wins in India and against Pakistan in the UAE.

“Given the depth of talent and competition for spots there were a number of tough calls we had to make to settle on our squad of 15.”

After a busy summer with Australia, Cummins and Khawaja returned for the final match of BBL|08 to help Thunder down the Hobart Hurricanes by four wickets at Manuka Oval.

Khawaja scored a quickfire 36 from 21 deliveries, while Cummins claimed the wickets of dangerous opening pair Matthew Wade and D’Arcy Short in a player of the match performance.

The fifteen-player World Cup squad will assemble in Brisbane for a training camp at the National Cricket Centre on May 2 before Australia opens its title defence against Afghanistan at the Bristol County Ground on 1 June.

Australian Men’s World Cup Squad:

Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria)

Usman Khawaja (Queensland)

David Warner (New South Wales)

Steve Smith (New South Wales)

Shaun Marsh (Western Australia)

Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)

Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia)

Alex Carey (vc) (South Australia)

Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)

Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)

Jhye Richardson (Western Australia)

Nathan Coulter-Nile (Western Australia)

Jason Behrendorff (Western Australia)

Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)

Adam Zampa (South Australia)

Thunder batter Kurtis Patterson has also been selected in the Australia A one-day and four-day squads after a breakout summer.

The one-day tour will see Australia A play five matches against County teams, while the four-day series will see Australia A play three matches in the lead up to the Ashes Tour of England.

Australia A Men’s One Day Squad:

Travis Head (c) (South Australia)

Matthew Wade (Tasmania)

Will Pucovski (Victoria)

Peter Handscomb (Victoria)

Ashton Turner (Western Australia)

Mitch Marsh (vc) (Western Australia)

D’Arcy Short (Western Australia)

Kurtis Patterson (New South Wales)

Ashton Agar (Western Australia)

Michael Neser (Queensland)

James Pattinson (Victoria)

Josh Hazlewood (vc) (New South Wales)

Kane Richardson (South Australia)

Sean Abbott (New South Wales)

Australia A Four Day Squad:

Tim Paine (c) (Tasmania)

Marcus Harris (Victoria)

Kurtis Patterson (New South Wales)

Will Pucovski (Victoria)

Travis Head (vc) (South Australia)

Peter Handscomb (Victoria)

Matthew Wade (Tasmania)

Mitch Marsh (Western Australia)

Michael Neser (Queensland)

Jon Holland (Victoria)

James Pattinson (Victoria)

Jackson Bird (Tasmania)

Josh Hazlewood (vc) (New South Wales)

Chris Tremain (Victoria)

Cummins and Khawaja have also been awarded national contracts for 2019/20.

2019/20 Men’s Contract List:

Patrick Cummins

Nathan Coulter-Nile

Alex Carey

Aaron Finch

Usman Khawaja

Peter Handscomb

Marcus Harris

Travis Head

Josh Hazlewood

Nathan Lyon

Glenn Maxwell

Shaun Marsh

Tim Paine

James Pattinson

Jhye Richardson

Steve Smith

Mitchell Starc

Marcus Stoinis

David Warner

Adam Zampa