Thunder duo named in Ashes squad | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder duo named in Ashes squad

12 January 2022

Hannah Darlington // Getty

Young gun selected in Australia 'A' squad

Sydney Thunder duo Rachael Haynes and Hannah Darlington have been named in a powerful 15-player Australian Women’s squad for the upcoming Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series against England.

Teenage sensation Phoebe Litchfield has also earned a place in the Australia 'A' squad after an impressive Big Bash campagin that saw her named WBBL|07 Young Gun.

The full Australia squad is:

Darcie Brown (SA/Northern Districts CC)

Nicola Carey (TAS/North Hobart CC)

Hannah Darlington (NSW/Campbelltown-Camden CC)

Ashleigh Gardner (NSW/Bankstown CC)

Rachael Haynes (VC) (NSW/Sydney CC)

Alyssa Healy (NSW/Sydney CC)

Jess Jonassen (QLD/University of Queensland CC)

Alana King (WA/Midland Guildford CC)

Meg Lanning (C) (VIC/Box Hill CC)

Tahlia McGrath (SA/Glenelg CC)

Beth Mooney (QLD/Sandgate-Redcliffe CC)

Ellyse Perry (VIC/Dandenong CC)

Megan Schutt (SA/Sturt CC)

Annabel Sutherland (VIC/Prahan CC)

Tayla Vlaeminck (VIC/Plenty Valley CC)

Head Coach: Matthew Mott

Assistant Coaches: Shelley Nitschke, Ben Sawyer

The multi-format series will begin on 20 January with three T20 Internationals at Adelaide Oval, followed by the Test match at Manuka Oval in Canberra from January 27-30. Manuka Oval will also host the first One-Day International, a day-night clash on February 3, while the following two ODIs will be played at Melbourne’s Junction Oval on February 6 and 8.

Across the series, teams are awarded two points for each ODI and T20 INTL win, while a Test win is worth four points. If a match is drawn the points are shared. The team that accumulates the most points at the end of the series will be awarded the Ashes.

Speaking on the squad, National Selector, Shawn Flegler said:

"This was a tough selection process with so many players coming off strong WBBL tournaments, but we’re confident we’ve selected a balanced, all-round squad with players who can perform across all three formats."

The 15-player Australia ‘A’ squad will face England ‘A’ across three T20s and three 50-over fixtures which will run concurrently with the Ashes.

The full Australia 'A' squad is:

Maitlan Brown (NSW/Sydney CC)

Erin Burns (NSW/Bankstown CC)

Stella Campbell (NSW/Northern District CC)

Nicole Faltum (VIC/Dandenong CC)

Tess Flintoff (VIC/Ringwood CC)

Heather Graham (TAS/Clarence CC)

Grace Harris (QLD/Western Suburbs CC)

Phoebe Litchfield (NSW/Penrith CC)

Katie Mack (ACT/Tuggeranong Valley CC)

Georgia Redmayne (C) (QLD/Gold Coast CC)

Courtney Sippel (QLD/Gold Coast CC)

Molly Strano (TAS/North Hobart CC/Essendon Maribyrnong Park Ladies CC)

Elyse Villani (TAS/North Hobart CC)

Georgia Voll (QLD/Sandgate-Redcliffe CC)

Amanda-Jade Wellington (SA/West Torrens CC)

Coach: Jude Coleman

Assistant Coach: Dan Marsh

Speaking on the Australia ‘A’ squad, Flegler said:
"The ‘A’ side was selected with an eye on the future as well as ensuring we have a number of players who can come straight into the Australian side and a play a role if required.

"Phoebe, Tess, Courtney, Nicole and Georgia are all really talented youngsters and it’s important to expose them to these sorts of opportunities against high quality opponents."

Tickets to the Test are currently available via Ticketek, with fans able to purchase tickets to the T20Is and ODIs from 1pm AEDT today (11am AEDT for members of the Australian Cricket Family). For more information visit

Fans unable to attend matches can tune in live via the Seven Network, Foxtel, Kayo, ABC Radio and the CA Live App.

Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Schedule

January 20: 1st T20I, 6:40pm, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

January 22: 2nd T20I, 1:40pm, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

January 23: 3rd T20I, 1:40pm, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

January 27 – January 30: Test Match, 10am, Manuka Oval, Canberra  

February 3: 1st ODI, 2:10pm, Manuka Oval, Canberra

February 6: 2nd ODI, 10:05am, Junction Oval, Melbourne

February 8: 3rd ODI, 10:05am, Junction Oval, Melbourne

Australia A v England A

January 20: 1st T20, 10:30am, Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide

January 21: 2nd T20, 2:30pm, Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide

January 23: 3rd T20, 9:30am, Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide

January 28: 1st 50-over match, 10am, Phillip Oval, Canberra

January 30: 2nd 50-over match, 10am, Phillip Oval, Canberra

February 2: 3rd 50-over match, 10am, Phillip Oval, Canberra