Thunder Duo Named In England World Cup Squad | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder Duo Named In England World Cup Squad

22 May 2019

Jos Buttler // Andrew Butler

Buttler and Root selected in final 15-man squad

Jos Buttler and Joe Root have both been named in England’s final 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup.

The pair were outstanding for England in a recent ODI series against Pakistan. Buttler scored an unbeaten century, and Root scored 40, 43, 36 and 84 in his four innings.  

Led by former Sydney Thunder batsman Eoin Morgan, England will begin its World Cup campaign against South Africa at The Oval on 30 May.

Australia opens its title defence against Afghanistan at the Bristol County Ground on 1 June, before it meets England at Lord’s on 25 June.

Australia Squad:

Aaron Finch (c), Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

England Squad:

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jos Buttler (wk), Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.