Thunder duo named in Marsh Cup team of the tournament | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder duo named in Marsh Cup team of the tournament

26 November 2019

Usman Khawaja

Ferguson and Khawaja recognised for stellar performances throughout the One-Day tournament

Sydney Thunder duo Usman Khawaja and Callum Ferguson have been named in’s Marsh Cup team of the tournament.


The star duo have been in stellar form with the bat ahead of the ninth KFC Big Bash League season which begins on 17 December when Thunder take on the Brisbane Heat at the Gabba.


1. Aaron Finch

2. Daniel Hughes

3. Usman Khawaja (Queensland) (C)

M: 5 | Runs: 372 | Ave: 93.00 | SR: 83.59 | HS: 138 | 100s: 2 | 50s: 1

Khawaja has been all class in leading the Bulls into another one-day final. He scored two centuries in three days against an impressive Victorian bowling attack in Melbourne, but arguably his best innings came against Tasmania last week. With the Bulls in a bit of trouble at 5-137 chasing 224 to win a low-scoring game, Khawaja expertly steered his side home, posting a patient 88 not out to secure hosting rights for Tuesday's decider.

4. Callum Ferguson (South Australia)

M: 7 | Runs: 403 | Ave: 57.57 | SR: 92.00 | HS: 127 | 100s: 2 | 50s: 1

Last week, Ferguson scored the 10th and 11th centuries of his career in Australian domestic one-day cricket, putting him third all-time and confirming his status as a great of South Australian cricket. After a slow start, Ferguson found his form with scores of 91, 127 and 122 to finish the season, moving past Darren Lehmann’s mark for the most runs for the Redbacks in one-day cricket. His score of 127 in a total of 246 against Western Australia was one of the performances of the competition, even though the Redbacks narrowly fell short of victory.

5. Marnus Labuschagne

6. Alex Carey

7. Marcus Stoinis

8. Nathan Coulter-Nile

9. Nathan Ellis

10. Jackson Bird

11. Wes Agar

BBL|09 Tickets:

Saturday 21 December 2019 | Vs Adelaide Strikers | Manuka Oval | 6.10pm

Thursday 2 January | Vs Melbourne Stars | Sydney Showground Stadium | 3.40PM

Monday 6 January | Vs Brisbane Heat | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7.10PM

Saturday 11 January | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Sydney Showground Stadium | 6.10PM

15 January 2020 | Vs Melbourne Renegades | Manuka Oval | 6.10pm

Saturday 18 January | Vs Sydney Sixers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7.10PM

Sunday 26 January | Vs Perth Scorchers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 2.45PM