McAndrew fifty not enough for Thunder Development XI | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

McAndrew fifty not enough for Thunder Development XI

29 October 2019

Mike Hussey Trophy series continues tomorrow at Blacktown International Sportspark

The Thunder Development XI has fallen to the Sixers Academy XI in its opening match of the Mike Hussey Trophy.

Contracted Thunder all-rounder Nathan McAndrew scored an unbeaten 68 runs from 41 deliveries, including three sixes and three fours.

Thunder Indigenous XI captain Tyran Liddiard was also impressive, scoring a quickfire 42 from 26 to power the Thunder Development XI to a total of 162.

Liddiard was a late inclusion after Charlie Stobo suffered an injury during warm-up.

Leg-spinner Jonathan Cook, who recently signed a two-year deal with Thunder, was the best of the bowlers, claiming 2/32 from four overs.

Cook was selected as a Replacement Player for BBL|08 after impressing for Thunder’s Development XI this time last year. He slotted well into Thunder’s spin attack, finishing with eight wickets from nine games.

Stand-in captain Jack Edwards was outstanding for the Sixers Academy XI, scoring an unbeaten 93 from 53 to lead his side to a five-wicket victory.

The Mike Hussey Trophy quad series will see the Thunder Development Squad take on teams representing the Sydney Sixers, Hobart Hurricanes and Auckland Aces.

The Thunder Development XI will be back in action tomorrow afternoon at Blacktown International Sportspark when they take on the Aces.

Thunder Development Squad

Jonathan Cook

Josh Clarke

Ollie Davies

Jordan Gauci

Chris Green

Ryan Hackney

Ryan Hadley

Brock Larance

Jay Lenton

Liam Marshall

Nathan McAndrew

Ben Patterson

Chad Sammut

Gurinder Sandhu

Tanveer Sangha

Charlie Stobo

Tim Ward

Mike Hussey Trophy Fixtures

Monday 28 October | Sixers vs Hurricanes | 2:00pm | BISP 2

Tuesday 29 October | Hurricanes vs Aces | 10:00am | BISP 2

Tuesday 29 October | Thunder vs Sixers | 2:00pm | BISP 2

Wednesday 30 October | Thunder vs Aces | 2:00pm | BISP 2

Thursday 31 October | Sixers vs Aces | 10:00am | BISP 1

Thursday 31 October | Thunder vs Hurricanes | 2:00pm | BISP 1

Friday 1 November | 1 vs 2 | 10:00am | BISP 1

Sydney Thunder is set to open its ninth KFC Big Bash League campaign against the Brisbane Heat at the Gabba on 17 December, before playing its first game in Sydney on 2 January.

Sydney Thunder Membership

Memberships are on sale now, with flexible 2-Game Memberships starting from just $45 and Full Season Memberships available from $80.

Sydney Thunder BBL|09 Tickets

Saturday 21 December 2019 | Vs Adelaide Strikers | Manuka Oval | 6.10pm

Thursday 2 January | Vs Melbourne Stars | Sydney Showground Stadium | 3:40PM

Monday 6 January | Vs Brisbane Heat | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:10PM

Saturday 11 January | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | Sydney Showground Stadium | 6:10PM

15 January 2020 | Vs Melbourne Renegades | Manuka Oval | 6.10pm

Saturday 18 January | Vs Sydney Sixers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:10PM

Sunday 26 January | Vs Perth Scorchers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 2:45PM