Thunder defeat Bangladesh in BBL06 Practice Match | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder defeat Bangladesh in BBL06 Practice Match

16 December 2016

Arjun Nair // GETTY IMAGES

Sydney Thunder has recorded a six-wicket win over the Bangladesh Cricket Board XI at Spotless Stadium on Friday Night.

The Thunder produced an performance to see off a strong Bangladesh CB XI that had days earlier defeated cross town BBL rivals the Sydney Thunder.

After winning the toss and electing to bat, Bangladesh Captain Mushfiquir Rahim may have been regretting his decision after his side fell to 2-6 after two overs.

Despite the support from a Bangladesh dominated crowd of 5,500 the wickets continued to tumble as the pace trio of Pat Cummins, Gurinder Sandhu and Clint McKay continued to attack.

The visitors reached 5-50 at the half way mark of their innings with no batsmen able to form any lengthy partnerships.

Arjun Nair was the pick of the Thunder bowlers with his turn and drift outsanding; his dismissal of Mominul Haque was one of the highlights of the match.

After giving the ball some flight, it drifted and turned away from the left-handed batsman who was cleaned bowled.

To Bangladesh's credit, they showed fight in the second half of the innings and on the back of Narul Hasan (35 off 27 balls) were able to post a respectable 8-122 from 20 overs.

The Thunder were cautious in their chase of 123 with openers Jay Lenton and Ryan Gibson looking to accumulate rather than blast away.

Despite some torrid bowling the duo combined for an opening stand of 48 before Lenton was dismissed for 25 off 24 balls.

Gibson was joined at the crease by captain Eoin Morgan but the pair could only add nine runs before the former was dismissed for a composed 25.

Jake Doran didn’t last long, being caught for one off the bowling of Tanbir.

Aidan Blizzard joined Morgan and the two added 20 for the fourth wicket before Blizzard (12) was bowled by Shubashis.

Morgan (33 for 34) continued on his merry way  to guide the Thunder to victory as he and Arjun Nair (17 off 15) combined for an unbroken fifth wicket partnership of 43 .