Thunder announce team to take on the Qalandars in semi-final | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder announce team to take on the Qalandars in semi-final

07 November 2018

Chris Green

Chris Green set to captain the Thunder

Sydney Thunder Development XI will take on Pakistan’s Lahore Qalandars in the semi-finals of the Mike Hussey Trophy tomorrow at Blacktown International Sportspark from 11:00am. 

The side will be coached by Sydney Thunder Assistant Coach Shawn Bradstreet and includes several contracted players including Chris Green (C), Jay Lenton, Nathan McAndrew and Ryan Gibson.

Green will captain the side and said he’s excited by the prospect of getting a win in a crunch game situation, especially following Thunder’s narrow loss to the Qalandars in their first match of the series.

“I don’t think we need to do a lot different. Monday was our first game together as a team for about a year, so it was a good tune up for the guys. This series gets you thinking about T20 cricket again and makes me really excited for the BBL season ahead,” Green said.

“Hopefully we get the win tomorrow and give ourselves another game on Friday and a chance to win the title.”

Thunder finished third after a loss to the Qalandars and a win against the Hobart Hurricanes Academy team. Thunder were due to play the Auckland Aces today however the match was washed out.

The winner of Thunder v Qalandars will take on first-placed Auckland Aces on Friday 9 November at Blacktown International Sportspark from 11:00am.


8 November v Lahore Qalandars

Ryan Gibson

Matthew Gilkes

Ryan Hackney

Arjun Nair

Chris Green (C)

Jay Lenton (WK)

Nathan McAndrew

Josh Clarke

Liam Hatcher

Greg West

Tanveer Sangha