Thunder announce Indigenous XI squad | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder announce Indigenous XI squad

07 November 2019

Tyran Liddiard

Indigenous T20 Cup to be held from 27-28 November in Orange

Sydney Thunder has announced its Indigenous XI squad, presented by Homestar Finance, to take on the Hobart Hurricanes Indigenous XI in three T20 fixtures in Orange from 27-28 November.

The Hurricanes were victorious in last year’s Indigenous T20 Cup, with a 2-1 series win. However, Thunder claimed overall honours with victory in the women’s competition.

Tyran Liddiard (Biripi) will again captain the Thunder Indigenous XI.

Liddiard has represented New South Wales at the National Indigenous Cricket Championships and was part of Australia’s historic tour of the UK to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the 1868 Aboriginal team’s tour of the UK.

The talented wicketkeeper-batsman also became the first Indigenous player to be named Player of the McDonald’s NSW Premier Cricket Final in March.

Liddiard said he’s excited about the next generation of players who have joined the Thunder Indigenous XI this year.

“It’s amazing to see all the Indigenous talent coming through now in cricket,” Liddiard said.

“For a long time now, we’ve really tried to get young kids playing cricket and to start seeing a few of them come up is amazing.

“It’s really positive that, through cricket, we are able to lead by example and set a positive example for younger people. To be able to get such a young team together for Sydney Thunder and to all come together as one to play cricket is really special.”

The Indigenous T20 Cup aims to promote the importance of culture, connecting the players to their people and their community.

The tournament works alongside existing community engagement work aimed at inspiring young Indigenous girls and boys.

According to Liddiard, the cultural significance of the Indigenous T20 Cup is paramount to the playing group.

“We are all very proud to be able to go out there and play for our culture and for our family and for me, again, it is about setting an example for the younger boys and teaching them a little bit about culture and a little bit about cricket,” Liddiard said.

“I think the main thing is just being able to be proud of our people and culture, and to be able to play cricket for our people is an such amazing opportunity, and for me to be able to lead that is something special.

“Culture to me is everything. I’ve known from a young age about my Indigenous background and where my mob is. For me, there couldn’t be a prouder moment to be able to play cricket and represent my people and culture.”

Homestar Finance continues their ongoing support of the Thunder Indigenous XI, backing the team for the second straight year of the Indigenous T20 Cup.

“We are proud to continue our support of Indigenous cricket and look forward to seeing the Thunder Indigenous XI team compete,” said Mandy Sly, Homestar Finance Executive.

“It’s great to see the talent they have put together this year.”

The event returns to the Thunder Nation after the Hurricanes hosted last year.

Mayor of Orange, Councilor Reg Kidd is excited to welcome the tournament back to Orange.

"Orange City Council is excited to host the Indigenous T20 Cup in Orange again in 2019 and we look forward to welcoming players, officials and supporters for two days of high-quality cricket,” said Cr Kidd.

"The Indigenous T20 Cup has been a wonderful initiative to provide young indigenous cricketers with a platform to showcase their skills and hopefully progress through the representative ranks and Council is only too happy to support the event through the provision of the region's premier cricket facility, Wade Park."

Thunder Indigenous XI squad, presented by Homestar Finance

Rohan Davis – Kamilaroi

Daniel Dellow – Wiradjuri

Yarran Fair-Townsend – Kamilaroi/Biripi

Ethan Fitzpatrick – Ngunnawal

Jack Hartigan – Gundungurra

Luke Jones – Eora

Tyran Liddiard (C/WK) – Biripi

Taine Martin – Biripi

Jack McDonald – Wiradjuri

Austyn Nugent – Wiradjuri

Lachlan O’Connor – Anaiwan

Ben Patterson – Wiradjuri

Doug Potter – Wiradjuri

Entry to the Indigenous T20 Cup is free. For more information please contact Sydney Thunder.

Indigenous T20 Cup – Wade Park, Orange, NSW

Game 1: Wednesday 27 November 2019 – 5.00pm

Game 2: Thursday 28 November 2019 – 10.30am

Game 3: Thursday 28 November 2019 – 2.00pm