Sydney Thunder Round Up | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Sydney Thunder Round Up

24 November 2017

Jay Lenton

Futures League and WNCL Action

Several stars of the Thunder Nation will be in action this weekend with the unbeaten Breakers who feature 6 Sydney Thunder players in their 13 player squad will be looking to continue their unbeaten 2017/2018 campaign this weekend when they take on Western Fury (Saturday 25) and ACT Meteors (Sunday 26).

With the WNCL about to take a break over the month of December to make way for the WBBL, the Breakers will be keen to cement their spot at the top of the table.

However, the Breakers will not be the only side with Thunder representatives across this weekend as Sam Bates will be taking on her WBBL team mates, playing for the ACT Meteors.

The six Thunder players representing the Breakers are Alex Blackwell, Nicola Carey, Maisy Gibson, Lisa Griffith, Rachael Haynes and Naomi Stalenberg.

Over in the Future Leagues, there were several performances of note from Thunder and Thunder Academy players, helping the NSW Metro to an outright win as well as a 1st innings victory over Western Australia. Arjun Nair starred with the ball, taking 3-22 in the 1st innings and 3-47 in the 2nd innings. He also scored 40 off 71 with the bat in the 2nd innings. Liam Hatcher also took 3-24 in the 2nd innings. On the batting side, Param Uppal hit 55 in the 1st innings and Josh Clarke hit 62* in the second innings.

Elsewhere in the Futures League Jay Lenton starred for NSW Country despite their loss to South Australia. He fell just short of his century in the 2nd innings after also taking 3 dismissals behind the stumps in the 1st innings.