Thunder double honoured at NSW Sports Awards | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Thunder double honoured at NSW Sports Awards

24 February 2017

Thunder BBL05/WBBL01 Double // GETTY IMAGES

Sydney Thunder picked up three awards at the 2016 NSW Sport Awards, held last night at Navarra Venue’s Curzon Hall.

A firm supporter of Sydney Thunder's work in the community NSW Minister for Sport The Hon. Stuart Ayres MP was in attendance, with experienced ABC radio journalist Tracey Holmes hosting the event.

Sydney Thunder's WBBL side picked up Team Of The Year having become the inaugural Rebel Women's Big Bash League champions, beating cross town rivals the Sydney Sixers at the MCG in January 2016.

Thunder's WBBL Head Coach Jo Broadbent was also nominated for Coach of the Year, missing out to Michael Blackburn after his back to back gold efforts with Tom Burton in Rio.

On the same day, later that evening, the Club's BBL side won the KFC Big Bash League when they beat the Melbourne Stars when Ben Rohrer hit a spectacular six to seal the win, they are awarded the Team of the Year (National Professional Leagues).

General Manager Nick Cummins was also awarded Sports Administrator of the Year. Cummins will depart the Club in the coming months to take up the position of CEO of Cricket Tasmania after four seasons with the Thunder.