Sri Lanka Team Set For Thunder Nation Cup | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Sri Lanka Team Set For Thunder Nation Cup

16 October 2018

Sri Lanka's Thunder Nation Cup team

Sri Lanka aiming to go one better than last season

The Sri Lankan community team has been selected to compete is this weekend’s Thunder Nation Cup at Mona Park in Auburn. Eight players were selected from the community trials, held at Blacktown International Sports Park on Sunday evening.

Last year Sri Lanka made the semi-final of the Thunder Nation Cup, before going down to eventual winners, India. Sutha Thanabalasingam, who represented the Thunder Nation Cup All Stars last year, is hoping to go one game further this year

“As a cricket coach and player, it is an honour to represent my community,” Thanabalasingam said.

“It has been my main goal this year to help the Sri Lankan community with cricket and help them achieve their goals.”


In a new format, the Thunder Nation Cup community trials have enabled more individuals to participate, whilst allowing them to connect with their community.

“The new format encourages all players to come to the trial and showcase their talent. By having these trials and then playing games it provides a better opportunity for all players,” Thanabalasingam said.

“I see a lot of young Sri Lankan players who have the talent but also have that work ethic. These players want to become the best version of themselves.”

Thunder Nation Cup – Sri Lanka
Luwis Anthony
Menuja Goonaratne
Thanuja Karunathilaka
Sutha Thanabalasingam
Thura Senthilvaderel
Tarik Viswasam
Kevin Pathirane
Hassan Mohamed

For more information please contact Sydney Thunder.

Sydney Thunder Tickets

9 DEC | v Brisbane Heat | WBBL | North Sydney Oval
21 DEC | v Hobart Hurricanes | WBBL | Manuka Oval
21 DEC | v Melbourne Stars | BBL | Manuka Oval
24 DEC | v Hobart Hurricanes | WBBL | Spotless Stadium
24 DEC | v Sydney Sixers | BBL | Spotless Stadium
2 JAN | v Sydney Sixers | WBBL | Spotless Stadium
2 JAN | v Perth Scorchers | BBL | Spotless Stadium
5 JAN | v Melbourne Stars | WBBL | Blacktown International SportsPark
6 JAN | v Melbourne Stars | WBBL | Bankstown Memorial Oval
8 JAN | v Melbourne Renegades | WBBL | Spotless Stadium
8 JAN | v Brisbane Heat | BBL | Spotless Stadium
13 JAN | v Adelaide Strikers | BBL | Spotless Stadium
22 JAN | v Melbourne Renegades | BBL | Spotless Stadium
9 FEB | v Hobart Hurricanes | BBL | Manuka Oval