MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup Sir Lankan Round | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup Sir Lankan Round

06 November 2017

Lankan Strikers

Teams now confirmed for the semi finals

The final round of the MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup competition was held on Sunday 29 October at Max Ruddock Reserve in Winston Hills with teams from the Sri Lankan community vying for a place in the Semi Finals.

With a strong batting line-up, Ocean 12 progressed to the finals undefeated, thanks to consecutive team scores over 100 against Ocean Thunder, Hills Strikers and the Lankan Strikers.

Despite losing their opening game, Lankan Strikers found form, winning back-to-back games to reach the final.

The final saw the Lankan Strikers post a score of 78 for the loss of 4 wickets, Vineetha Rajakaruna top scoring with 29. Tight bowling in the early overs of the second innings, gave the Lankan Strikers the upper hand as Ocean 12 were restricted to 64 in their 7 overs, handing Lankan Strikers an upset victory.

Kamesh Palanimalai’s (Ocean 12) dominant batting display throughout the day was enough for him to be selected to trial for the Thunder Nation Cup All Stars team on Friday 10 November, he will be joined by Suthakar Rajaguru (Ocean 12).

Lankan Strikers will represent the Sri Lankan community at the MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup semi final event, which will be held at Blacktown International Sports Park on Sunday 12 November 2017. The top two nations from this event will take part in the final at Spotless Stadium on Sunday 7 January 2018.

Top Stories