Sams wins Mike Hussey Medal | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Sams wins Mike Hussey Medal

03 April 2020

Left-arm quick voted Player of the Tournament after record-breaking season

Daniel Sams has been awarded the Mike Hussey Medal as Sydney Thunder’s Player of the Tournament after a record-breaking season in the KFC Big Bash League.

The left-arm quick took 30 wickets at an average of 15.36, overtaking Kane Richardson’s record of 24.

His best figures of 4/34 came against the Hobart Hurricanes at Blundstone Arena.

Sams, who was Thunder’s leading wicket-taker for the second consecutive season since crossing from the Sydney Sixers, said he was honoured to be voted by his teammates as the best player of the season.

“It means quite a lot, especially being a peer-voted award. It’s great to know you’re valued in the team,” Sams said.

“I really enjoy the set up at Thunder. It’s a great community and a great club. It’s not just focussed on the players, it’s about everything else that the club does outside of the tournament, and it creates a great atmosphere within the club all year round.

“Getting Phil Salt out a few times was one of my highlights. He’s a bloke that can smack it so it was always good being able to get him out early and that sort of stunted what the Strikers could do against us.”

Hear from Daniel Sams in the video below.

Runners Up

1. Daniel Sams

2. Alex Hales

3. Chris Morris

4. Alex Ross

Previous Winners

BBL|08 – Callum Ferguson

BBL|07 – Shane Watson

BBL|06 – Pat Cummins

BBL|05 – Shane Watson and Usman Khawaja

BBL|04 – Jacques Kallis

BBL|03 – Gurinder Sandhu

BBL|02 – Dirk Nannes

BBL|01 – Chris Gayle