Sams earns national selection | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Sams earns national selection

16 July 2020

Daniel Sams // AAP

Uncapped seamer recognised after record-breaking BBL campaign

Sydney Thunder star Daniel Sams has been included in a preliminary list of 26 players for a proposed tour of England during September.

The uncapped seamer has been recognised by national selectors for the first time after a record-breaking KFC Big Bash League campaign last summer.

Sams set the record for the most wickets in a single season, with 30 scalps at an average of 15.37, overtaking Kane Richardson’s record of 24.

"The preliminary list includes several exciting young players who have recently excelled at state level and in the BBL,” said selector Trevor Hohns.

“These emerging players are those we would like to develop further as we believe they have a bright future in Australian cricket.”

The 27-year-old is joined in the preliminary squad by Thunder teammate Usman Khawaja.

A short tour consisting of three ODIs and three T20s was originally scheduled for this month but was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Cricket Australia has named a larger squad than normal to help cover a range of contingencies, with the likely prospect of not being able to bring in replacements should the tour proceed.

A final squad will be named if and when the tour is confirmed.

Australia's preliminary squad: Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Michael Neser, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, D’Arcy Short, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.