Patterson named in Australian Test squad | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Patterson named in Australian Test squad

21 January 2019

Kurtis Patterson

Thunder batter called up to Test squad after impressive run of form

Sydney Thunder batter Kurtis Patterson has been called up to the Australian Test squad after striking two centuries in a Cricket Australia XI tour match against Sri Lanka in Hobart.

In-form Patterson scored unbeaten knocks of 157 and 102 in two innings for the CA XI at Blundstone Arena during the three-day match last week, and National Selector Trevor Hohns said that performance helped selectors decide to make a late addition to the previously announced Test team.

“The National Selection Panel has added Kurtis Patterson to the squad for the upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka,” Hohns said.

“Kurtis has been pushing his case for selection for some time, he has been a consistent top order player for New South Wales, was a member of the Australian A tour of India prior to the commencement of our summer, and was most recently selected to compete in the day night tour match against Sri Lanka in Hobart.”

“We have been asking batters around the country to score hundreds if they want to be considered for selection, and given Kurtis’ consistent performances for NSW and his two unbeaten centuries in last week’s tour match against our upcoming opponent, Sri Lanka, we believe he deserves to be added to the Test squad.”

“Kurtis has joined the squad in Brisbane today to commence our preparations for the first Test starting on Thursday.”

25-year-old Patterson becomes the fourteenth player in the Australian squad.

Australia: Tim Paine (c/wk), Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Kurtis Patterson, Will Pucovski, Matt Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle.

Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (c), Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Kusal Perera, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha.

The first Test is set to take place from 24-28 January at The Gabba with the second to begin on 1 February at Manuka Oval.