NSW victorious at NICC | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

NSW victorious at NICC

12 February 2019

Ben Patterson and Tyran Liddiard

Indigenous cricketers from Thunder Nation help NSW successfully defend titles

The New South Wales Indigenous Men’s and Women’s teams have successfully defended their titles at the National Indigenous Cricket Championships in Alice Springs.

The Women’s team claimed its 12th consecutive title with a comprehensive 46-run victory over Victoria in the final on Monday.

The win completed a dominant week for the 2019 champions who went through the T20 tournament undefeated.

Sydney Thunder’s Hannah Darlington (2-11) claimed multiple wickets while other Indigenous cricketers from the Thunder Nation played important roles.

Anika Learoyd top-scored with 60 not out from 42 balls to help post an imposing total of 2/168 from the 20 overs, well supported by Mikayla Hinkley (43).

Roxy Van-Veen finished the tournament as the leading wicket taker across all six states and territories. The allrounder claimed 13 wickets at just 4.54 and was also the leading run-scorer for NSW with 138 runs to her name at an average of 46.


The NSW Indigenous Men’s team comfortably chased down 106 to claim an eight-wicket win over Queensland in the final on Monday.

Thunder Nation’s Ben Patterson was a stand out for the champions in the final. The fast bowling allrounder from Dubbo claimed 2-16 from four overs and followed that with an unbeaten 53 from 30 balls to seal the win.


It is the first time since 2012 both the NSW Men’s and Women’s Indigenous teams have defended their titles in the same year.

Thunder is committed to Indigenous engagement and through a variety of initiatives and programs, the club strives provide opportunities for Indigenous cricketers across the Thunder Nation and make a meaningful difference in the community.

In December, Thunder’s Indigenous sides won a five-game series against the Hobart Hurricanes to retain the Indigenous XI T20 Cup.

Hannah Darlington
Hannah Darlington

Indigenous cricketers from the Thunder Nation who represented NSW at the NICC:

Hannah Darlington Kamilaroi

Julie Muir Wiradjuri

Dharmini Chauhan Wiradjuri

Anika Learoyd Gumbaynggir

Jemma Astley Wannarua

Naomi Woods Kamilaroi

Mikayla Hinkley Kunja

Roxsanne Van-Veen Gundungurra

Dimity Parton Wiradjuri/Yuwaalaraay

Tyran Liddiard Biripi

Adam Burton Kamilaroi

Nathaniel Jones Eora

Brendan Smith Dunghutti

Ryan Fenning Wiradjuri

Marty Jeffrey Wiradjuri

Ben Patterson Wiradjuri

Brock Larance Biripi