Head to Head: Thunder vs Stars | Sydney Thunder - BBL
Cricket network logo

Head to Head: Thunder vs Stars

27 November 2020

Everything you need to know for Saturday night’s WBBL|06 Final against the Melbourne Stars

Match Information:

Date: Saturday 28 November

Venue: North Sydney Oval

Time: 7:10pm (AEDT)

How to Watch:

Tickets: $10 and kids 16 and under go free

Broadcast: Live on Seven, Fox Cricket and Kayo Sports

Radio: ABC Grandstand

Head to Head:

Thunder lead the head to head seven wins to three.

The two clubs have never met in a WBBL final or semi-final.

Last time they met the Stars defeated the Thunder by eight wickets at Sydney Showground Stadium. The other match between the two sides in WBBL|06, at North Sydney Oval, was washed out.

Did You Know?

This is the first WBBL final for Sydney Thunder since its WBBL|01 success when they defeated the Sixers at the MCG. Thunder’s men’s team defeated the Stars by 3 wickets in the BBL|05 final later that same day.

Thunder captain Rachael Haynes is the only member of the team who won in WBBL|01, four years ago, still with the Thunder squad. Sam Bates was part of the WBBL|01 squad but missed the final with a broken arm.

Stars allrounder Erin Osborne was also part of the Thunder team who won in WBBL|01.

Thunder allrounder Sammy-Jo Johnson has never lost a WBBL final. She was part of the Brisbane Heat team that won the last two titles.

8 of the 11 that defeated the Brisbane Heat in the semi-final on Thursday night will play in their first WBBL final, if selected.

Key Match-Ups:

Meg Lanning vs Heather Knight

Lanning is the Australian and Melbourne Stars captain. She is the competition’s second leading run-scorer this season with 480 runs.

Knight is the England captain and has scored 420 runs in her first season wearing lime green. She is fourth on the WBBL|06 run-scorers’ list.

Nat Sciver v Sammy-Jo Johnson

Hard-hitting allrounder Sammy-Jo Johnson is the competition’s leading wicket taker with 20 wickets and has hit 107 runs for Thunder this season.

England and Stars allrounder Nat Sciver has taken 19 wickets and scored 241 runs.

3 things we need to do to beat the Melbourne Stars:

Thunder skipper Rachael Haynes, who will play in her second WBBL final on Saturday night, gives us the lowdown on what we need to do to beat the Melbourne Stars.

Sydney Thunder Memberships

Memberships start from $40 and offer access to a host of exclusive benefits, including priority access to BBL|10 tickets plus a 20% discount. View all packages here.

For more information or to join the Thunder Nation, please contact our Membership Team on 02 8302 6092.